2009 Avalanche soon to be mid travel

Discussion in 'Introduction' started by Fzr1483, Jan 11, 2018.

1. Fzr1483

Fzr1483 New Member

Hi all,

Long time lurker on this forum. Finally decided to register. First of all thanks to all the members and the wealth of info on here. I've definitely used the forum plenty for maintenance tips in the past.

I have a 2009 Avy 1500 LTZ 4wd. It was new to me at 114k mi. Currently all stock. I work in the oilfield and drive a lot. About 30k a year with a lot of the driving on dirt roads, in mud, no so much snow anymore now that I'm based in TX.

Truck currently has 176k mi and needs tires, 1 rim (cracked it during some sideways shenanigans on a dirt road. A rock stopped said shenanigans, fail!), 4 tires, at least 1 wheel hub, both upper BJs, all 4 AutoRide shocks ($$$$$$$$ I can't put enough dollar signs in).

So I figure it's time for some upgrades. It will be a mid travel expedition vehicle build.

The idea started when I got a quote for the AutoRide replacement. 4 shocks, 2 sensors, and compressor was $1800 in parts. That's enough for a set of Fox, King, Icon 2.5s. Hmmm... the gears started turning.

I pretty much use my truck like an expedition vehicle. Drive hundreds of miles (on pavement) to a remote location and finish with anywhere from 5 to 50 miles on class 1 to 2 roads. Improved on a good day, deeply rutted dirt road on a bad day. That said I want stock power train reliability, better than stock durability on suspension, and close to stock mpg.

Here is the list of things I plan to do to the truck/SUV/SUT thing.

LIFT:
    2 to 2.5in max, just enough to fit 33s. Would rather trim fenders than push to above 3in.
    -ball joint UCA: Cognito or Icon with Delta Joint ($$$$ ouch)
    -Extended travel shocks: Haven't decided between Bily 5100, Fox 2.0 or Icon 2.5 (basically $$ vs $$$ vs $$$$)
    -Rear: Bily 5100, Fox 2.0 or Icon 2.0 same dilemma as above