'94 C1500 blowing #9 fuse, even with lights unplugged

Discussion in 'General GM Discussions' started by haromaster87, Jan 11, 2017.

1. haromaster87

haromaster87 New Member

Hello all,

I'm new to the forum, but this looks like a great place! I'm afraid I must jump right into an issue. I recently got a 1994 GMC C1500 with single sealed beam headlights, and I'm trying to track down a pesky electrical issue. I noticed early on my tail lights, front parking lights, and gauge lights weren't working. Checking the fuses, I found the #9 25A Park lights fuse was blown. Threw a new one in there and it blew as soon as I turned the parking light switch. I'm not new at working with 12v electronics at all, but I must admit this is my first time tracking a random short and I'm not terribly familiar with the wiring on these trucks yet.

So, here's the troubleshooting I've done:

Unplugged the tail light assemblies as a whole, unplugged the license plate lights, and removed the front bulbs, no change here. Fuse still blows instantly. Seems like that rules out any of the parts in the rear light assembly.

I got under and traced the tail light light wiring all the way up and could not find any points where the wire loom was worn through or even pinched. I know there can be a short under the loom, just haven't gotten that far yet. It should be noted, the brake lights still work fine, it's just the tail lights not working.

After that, I started looking for other ways to narrow it down. I was trying to rule out the front parking light section of the harness and I found the big bulk head connector on the firewall, that's kind of below/to the side of the booster. I see the front lights obviously go to this connector, and it looks like another couple of harnesses go off to the back. I'm hoping/assuming one of these harnesses is the rear light harness.