Carbureted engine swap

Discussion in 'Engine & Performance' started by Redneckfarmer97, Nov 20, 2016.

Which option should I choose?

1. Rebuild and build my 350 TBI

0 vote(s)
    0.0%
  2. Drop in a built 400 small block

100.0%
Sponsored By: Black Bear Performance
  1. Redneckfarmer97

Redneckfarmer97 New Member

Hey guys, I'm new to any sort of forum so forgive me if I am posting in the wrong place. I have a 1989 Chevy C2500 with a 5 speed manual. This winter I would like to do one of two things, either rebuild and cam my 350 TBI, or swap in a 400 small block. So my questions are, if I cam a 350 TBI, will I need to do anything to my trucks computer? And if I drop in a 400 small block, what would I need to do with my computer? Also, what else would I have to do if I dropped a carbureted engine into a truck that is powered by a TBI engine? As you can see I'm not very experienced in dealing with vehicle computers. I am only a novice mechanic who is thirsty for knowledge! Any input with either option would be greatly appreciated! Thank you!

2. oldschoolchevy

oldschoolchevy Serious!

I would ditch the idea of a 400 sbc an just swap it LS block an ECM. Way better power capabilities and fuel mileage. Depending on your area you can get a engine an ecm also harness for 400-800.

3. Redneckfarmer97

Redneckfarmer97 New Member

While I think the LS engines are badass, I have a soft spot in my heart for old carbureted engines. This is for my second truck, or as I call it, my "fun truck", so I have no worries about about fuel mileage. In the time since I've posted my question, I have decided to just rebuild, then build my old TBI. I won't have the money for a 400 sbc, and pets for the 350 are relatively cheap. Will I need to do anything with the computer if I cam it? Also, what cam would be recommended? Thank you for the feedback!

4. Setbrew45

Setbrew45 New Member