Important Coop's iPod/aux input How-To for 03+ XM Capable Trucks

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by xlcooplx, Jul 7, 2011.

Sponsored By: EMF Car Audio
  1. xlcooplx

    xlcooplx resident pyromaniac

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    7,499
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Are you sure that you tied into the correct common ground? There are two black wires in that plug. How did you make connections (solder, t-tap, etc.)?
     
  2. VegasJ

    VegasJ Internet Tough Guy

    Posts:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    PA
    *sigh*

    I'm STILL waiting for my jack. This is pissing me off!!!
     
  3. racer37

    racer37 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    226
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Im sure. I soldered them. I guess i could try it on the other ground but im really sure I spliced into the correct blk/wht wire
     
  4. xlcooplx

    xlcooplx resident pyromaniac

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    7,499
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    That's strange. I mean, I don't know what else to suggest to you as this is a very simple, straight-forward mod. If you followed the write-up, you should have a working aux input, unless you have a faulty jack, or messed it up when soldering the wires to it.
     
  5. Jared

    Jared Banned From GMFS

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    6,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Location:
    North Texas
    I just ordered mine
     
  6. Jared

    Jared Banned From GMFS

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    6,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Location:
    North Texas
  7. racer37

    racer37 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    226
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I know. I am very good with automotive electrical (it's my job!) and I used an adjustable heat soldering iron. I'm guessing my jack is bad. I guess i'll order another jack and try it again.
     
  8. VegasJ

    VegasJ Internet Tough Guy

    Posts:
    987
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 19, 2008
    Location:
    PA

    You want the black/white wire that is in the corner of the plug. I hooked up to the other black/white wire and got the same... choppy whopping noises.

    [​IMG]

    I switched to the other black/white striped wire and it works flawlessly!!

    Crisp n clear... good shit :big_banana_Dance:
     
  9. racer37

    racer37 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    226
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Mar 22, 2011
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    Got it!
    I installed a new 3.5mm jack and it works perfect. I was able to install the jack into an unused power outlet.

    [​IMG]
    [​IMG]
     
  10. Jared

    Jared Banned From GMFS

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    6,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Location:
    North Texas
    Nice. I got mine in, need to do it.
     
  11. Manbearpig

    Manbearpig QuadraSteernado

    Age:
    28
    Posts:
    8,347
    Likes Received:
    20
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    datRadioID
     
  12. Jared

    Jared Banned From GMFS

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    6,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Location:
    North Texas
    Finally got mine in yesterday thanks to Charlie (redline05) and Tommy. While getting my alarm installed I had them to this as well. Instead of doing it the way described by the OP, they tapped the wires near the head unit and ran it straight through the smallest cubby hole near the A/C. Set to XM 0 and viola! No more radio or same ol' cd's!
     
  13. VmaxEngage

    VmaxEngage GMFS Member

    Posts:
    757
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 22, 2007
    Location:
    GA
    Anyway to add it to this radio?
    [​IMG]


    OR will I still have to trick the radio with a tape player or something else. The CD player doesn't work in mine.
     
  14. Jared

    Jared Banned From GMFS

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    6,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Location:
    North Texas
  15. StealthSVT

    StealthSVT Formerly White_Stealth

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    861
    Likes Received:
    12
    Joined:
    Oct 22, 2007
    Location:
    Moore, Oklahoma
    Awesome write up...my wife has been bugging me to figure something out so she can listen to the ipod in the Tahoe...Gonna give it a go next weekend.
     
  16. 02White6.0

    02White6.0 GMFS Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    2,318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Walker, LA
    Great write up coop, I used this one and the other one to do my 06 earlier today. I wound up using the 5 pin radio shack switch since it was readily available and also used an extra cat5 cable I had laying around the house so I only have about $15 tied into this setup including a 3ft cord I bought. And for the 5pin users you only have to use pins 1,2,5 since it's a NC switch. I still need to solder and heat shrink the XM harness tomorrow, but overall this is a cheap and easy mod that anybody could do.
     
  17. imout

    imout Formely SSierra08

    Posts:
    4,488
    Likes Received:
    113
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2009
    Location:
    everywhere
    Do you need to keep a xm sub to use it? I ordered today
     
  18. 02White6.0

    02White6.0 GMFS Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    2,318
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Walker, LA
    Nope, just tune to channel 0 and your good to go, my xm has been canceled for over a year now.
     
  19. sldpulr

    sldpulr New Member

    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Just did this to my truck. Thanks for the write up!
     
  20. Jared

    Jared Banned From GMFS

    Age:
    32
    Posts:
    6,338
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 17, 2005
    Location:
    North Texas
    Can anyone comment on why when I remote start my truck the radio comes on of course, but if I turn it back of, or let the default run time end, the radio stays on. I have to open and close my door or unlock/lock the truck again.
     

Share This Page