Important Coop's Method to Unlock VIN-Locked Delphi Radios

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by xlcooplx, Mar 21, 2012.

Sponsored By: EMF Car Audio
  1. xlcooplx

    xlcooplx resident pyromaniac

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    7,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Let me preface this by saying that this should work on 03-07 classic Delphi radios.

    As we all know, 03+ Delphi radios are VIN-locked and can only be swapped between vehicles if the radio has been programmed with that VIN. I purchased a radio back in December to swap in to my brother's 03 rcsb, as his OEM CD player no longer functioned. Also, I chose to get a radio with a cassette deck so I could easily add an aux input for his iPod. Seeing how he has still yet to take his truck to the dealership to get the radio programmed to his VIN, I began to wonder where the VIN information was stored at in the radio. With this curiosity, I took his old radio out today and began searching the main board for an EEPROM. As luck would have it, I found one in the middle of the board. I googled the information that I found written on the EEPROM and decided to remove it from the board to see what would happen. Since it was already VIN locked to his truck, I decided to try it in my 05. Believe it or not, it worked. With this in mind, I tore apart the new radio. Here are the steps to making it work.

    For starters, here is the radio that I am using.
    [​IMG]

    First things first, turn the radio over to the bottom and remove the bottom cover. (thanks for letting me steal your photo, Garrett! I forgot to take one.)
    [​IMG]

    Once you get the bottom off, remove the cassette player (if equipped). Under the cassette player is the main board of the radio.
    This "Cal-Err" message appears for about 2 seconds when the radio first receives power. This still allows the radio to retain the door chimes, presets, EQ and other features.

    I'll get some better photos tomorrow when I add the aux-input and button it up. Hopefully this will save you guys the $70 at the stealership to reprogram the radio. :shake:
     
  2. Khaos

    Khaos GMC Owner

    Posts:
    1,271
    Likes Received:
    11
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2010
    Location:
    518, NY
    Awesome job man, I'm sure this will help tons of people and save them some money in the process.
     
  3. baldd86

    baldd86 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Houston
    I wished the nnbs would be the same, now you have me thinking??? I might open the old nnbs radio I have to look for something similar

    Sent from my SPH-D700 using Tapatalk
     
  4. ibanender

    ibanender www.emfcaraudio.com

    Posts:
    7,423
    Likes Received:
    30
    Joined:
    May 15, 2008
    Location:
    Spartanburg, SC
    That's pretty sweet. Simple fix to a stupid problem.
     
  5. Forklift

    Forklift Wanna B Jack o all Trades

    Posts:
    9,819
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver/Portland
    does it keep saying cal err?
     
  6. xlcooplx

    xlcooplx resident pyromaniac

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    7,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Nope. It only says it for the first two seconds when the radio is powered on. I'll get a video later once I put it back in the truck.
     
  7. javzh

    javzh get down or lay down

    Posts:
    1,323
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 29, 2009
    Location:
    disneyland, ca
    nice job. this should be stickied somewhere.
     
  8. jusdragit

    jusdragit hotdogfarts

    Posts:
    2,287
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Nov 13, 2004
    Location:
    Location
    does it do it every single time you turn the truck on? Or just the initial start up of the truck after pulling the eprom?

    I am anal enough just to NOT see the cal error every time i turned the key on I would pay the dealership haha. Still pretty badass to have figured that out.
     
  9. GreystoneCC

    GreystoneCC GMFS Member

    Posts:
    2,171
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Dec 4, 2006
    Location:
    McKinney Tx
    trollin i be
     
  10. Twentyhurtz

    Twentyhurtz GMFS Member

    Posts:
    994
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Apr 20, 2011
    Location:
    Ellisville, Ms
    Nice... looks like an easy way to make a little money...
     
  11. Forklift

    Forklift Wanna B Jack o all Trades

    Posts:
    9,819
    Likes Received:
    5
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver/Portland
    stuck
     
  12. baldd86

    baldd86 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    860
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 24, 2010
    Location:
    Houston
    have you tried leaving the eeprom on and just lifting up the #8 pin, that may help take away the ERROR at the beginning.
     
  13. xlcooplx

    xlcooplx resident pyromaniac

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    7,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Yeah, I tried that first and it still had the cal error since it wasn't powered. I just opted to remove it completely.
     
  14. Manbearpig

    Manbearpig GMFS Senior Member

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    8,272
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Jan 1, 2007
    Location:
    Corpus Christi, TX
    :hmm:

    Have some wacky hack to get the XM feature working with out Tech2? :jester:

    Do want ghetto wired aux input

    DNW to fork $75 to dealer to program the goddamn radio
     
  15. Mr. 960

    Mr. 960 GMFS Senior Member

    Posts:
    3,431
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 10, 2005
    Location:
    Berkeley CA
    okay, so this is only for the theft lock? What if you buy a non bose radio and want it programmed for bose? Then I guess you still have to see Mr. Goodwrench? Removing the prom will always net in seeing cal-error for the first 2 sec? Pretty cool though - thanks for posting your findings!

    Mr. 960
     
  16. xlcooplx

    xlcooplx resident pyromaniac

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    7,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    This doesn't reprogram any options. The whole purpose of an EEPROM is to save information when the device has no power to it. As far as I know, only the VIN is stored in this EEPROM. By removing it, you are only keeping the truck from obtaining the VIN from the radio. I'm sure the other settings are stored in another controller elsewhere.
     
  17. dmaxx3500

    dmaxx3500 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    45
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 31, 2012
    Location:
    chicago
    can the eeprom be powered/or grounded to clear the VIN?
     
  18. outragis

    outragis GMFS Member

    Age:
    53
    Posts:
    50
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 14, 2004
    Location:
    Vermont
    is there something missing on the first post? edit: found on another site, here is missing info
     
    Last edited: Apr 1, 2012
  19. xlcooplx

    xlcooplx resident pyromaniac

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    7,499
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 18, 2005
    Location:
    Charleston, SC
    Yeah, I'm not sure how that got gone. And since we can no longer edit our posts, I can't change it. I did notice, it seems the bass/mid/treble settings reset each time the unit is powered off.
     
  20. IMI4tth3w

    IMI4tth3w Lifted 2wd Owner

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    4,873
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Aug 5, 2008
    Location:
    San Antonio, TX
    i can still edit my posts??

    neat find
     

Share This Page