How to Install an Alarm/Keyless/Remote Start & Locks in a 99-07

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by Forklift, Dec 18, 2007.

Sponsored By: EMF Car Audio
  1. Chris12

    Chris12 Shit Disturber

    Posts:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area, Ca.
    I like to keep things OEM on my truck. I like the OEM look and the fact that it is now covered under warranty. Not only are aftermarket kits not covered, but incorrect installation can further void the warranty.

    I don't have snow in my area, but I have never had a problem with the distance of the remote start, or the remote start not reaching the truck from inside a structure. Last week I started the truck from 500+ feet away, and I routinely start the truck when I'm inside a two story steel frame and cinder block structure, which allows no cell service into the building.

    I'm certain the truck senses the outside temperature and takes action to create a comfortable climate inside the vehicle. I had an '07 Esky previous to this truck, and I think it heated the steering wheel and seats when it was cold too. If equally equipped , the trucks should do the same, as well as HVAC countermeasures.

    I wasn't aware of the other shortfalls you mentioned and I can do without them. Though I do know what it's like to have something, then know what you're missing.

    My CEL is on now and my truck won't remote start. This pisses me off.

    I'm just defending my decision to go with OEM here and to clear up some confusion. I don't dispute the fact that aftermarket units that have these features are superior, but personally I worry about long term durability.
     
  2. Dirty-Dan

    Dirty-Dan GMFS Member

    Age:
    38
    Posts:
    301
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2012
    Location:
    Crossett Arkansas
    Ok, thanks!
     
  3. jonyb

    jonyb Stay Gold!!!!

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    6,522
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Paducah
    I've got a Clifford 1 mile LCD remote start on my work car. I had it on the current car, the last 2 trucks I've had, and a CTS-V. It's 5 years old. That's long-term durability. In the end, you're OEM remote is nothing more than the one I've got, so there's nothing to make it last longer than mine.
     
  4. TruckDoctor32

    TruckDoctor32 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Need help ASAP!! Installing an AutoPage alarm on my truck. The ignition wire needed for the DBALL2 kit is supposed to read 0volts in every position except crank. For some reason it is reading around 5volts. So it's not giving the correct voltage to the interface to allow it to detect voltage change to crank the truck. Geek Squad at Best Buy is installing it and they've tried everything. The system worked fine with an FL-CAN module because it doesn't need that one wire. Problem is I ordered the DBALL2 and don't want to piss off $100 on it. Can anyone please explain why the yellow ignition wire is reading 5volts when not in crank position? Or what to do to fix the problem!

    PS. It's a 2001 Silverado 1500 with an AutoPage C3-RS730.
     
  5. jonyb

    jonyb Stay Gold!!!!

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    6,522
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Sep 1, 2005
    Location:
    Paducah
    Yellow 12 gauge wire is starter. If it shows 5v, battery is dead or the ground lead on they're meter is jacked up.
     
  6. TruckDoctor32

    TruckDoctor32 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 7, 2012
    Location:
    Arkansas
    Which battery are you saying is dead? Truck battery? Even if his volt meter was jacked up, the module should still program if it had the correct voltage of 0. Wouldn't it? I was with them when they were trying to install it. I'm no idiot when it comes working on trucks or installing radios, etc. But I am new to alarm install so I have no idea how to help. The FL-CAN module programmed like a champ because it doesn't use the yellow wire.
     
  7. vjsimone

    vjsimone New Member

    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 11, 2015
    Location:
    NC
    Hello folks, lot on info here but; Just looking for a remote start system for my 2000, K3500, 7.4L gas, Crew Cab, 4x4. Don't need an alarm.

    Recommendations? Thanks
     
    Last edited: Jul 11, 2015
  8. el_flores

    el_flores GMFS Member

    Posts:
    405
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Location:
    Oklahoma
    Might try Compustar and Viper.
     
  9. Throbbing Woodii

    Throbbing Woodii New Member

    Posts:
    4
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 20, 2015
    Location:
    Texas
    Thanks a lot. I'm doing mine when I get ahold of the actuators. Where on the remote start did u wire the actuators to?
     

Share This Page