How To: The Big 3

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by cmatt, Jan 23, 2008.

Sponsored By: EMF Car Audio
  1. cmatt

    cmatt GMFS Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    845
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    EDIT: Changed the position of the engine to body ground. Placed pics in my post on page 3.

    Not sure if this is already on the site. I searched, but no luck. Mods, feel free to sticky or move this thread if it needs to be in the tech forum. I also didn't resize the pics so the details would be clear (be careful 56k).

    The "big 3" upgrade is a common mod done by owners. It involves upgrading the size and quality of wire for the battery and alternator. This will provide better current flow which can affect many aspects of your vehicle (i.e. less voltage drop, no dimming lights, even better mileage, etc...).

    There has been some debate on whether or not to fuse the lead from the battery to the alternator. I chose to have the extra insurance and fused it with a 200amp waterproof ANL fuse.

    For parts, I ordered my supplies from knukonceptz.com. Good quality and value for the price. Most go with 1/0 gauge wire. You could even use welding cable.

    I followed the paths of the factory cable and finished everything off with wire loom.

    On the (-) side:
    Battery to chassis
    Battery to block

    On the (+) side:
    Battery to alternator

    On with the pics:

    Le parts
    [​IMG]

    Test fitting the battery terminals
    [​IMG]

    For the battery to frame lead, I used a common ground bolt almost directly below the battery.
    [​IMG]

    Here's a shot of the bolt looking from underneath the truck.
    [​IMG]

    The ground bolt on the block is hard to see. Removing the plastic splash guard just under and behind the front of the truck will help immensely.
    [​IMG]

    Making progress.
    [​IMG]

    Some finished pics:
    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    [​IMG]

    Please feel free to ask any questions or add comments. Forklift or Rattron, let me know what you think.
    :endofshow
     
    Last edited: Feb 22, 2009
  2. Mauro

    Mauro Fresno State Bulldog

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    5,711
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    CenCal
    Nice write up! I'll be doing this hopefully this weekend......:D
     
  3. chevy_man

    chevy_man Left Jizz

    Posts:
    1,216
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 7, 2006
    Location:
    Grand Forks, ND
    very clean, the extensive use of loom makes it almost unnoticeable.

    I wish I had the patience to do shit like that, mine's just all zip-tied out of the way.
     
  4. JoeR

    JoeR GMFS Senior Member

    Age:
    30
    Posts:
    6,135
    Likes Received:
    3
    Joined:
    Nov 22, 2004
    Location:
    SoCal
    ive been wanting to do this for a while, how many feet of each wire did you end up using to do it all?
     
  5. Grohe

    Grohe GMFS Member

    Posts:
    2,723
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 17, 2007
    Location:
    NW Indiana
    what size split loom did you use??
     
  6. cmatt

    cmatt GMFS Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    845
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    I ordered 10ft of the ground cable and 7ft of power cable. I used about 7ft of the ground and 3-4ft of the power cable.

    Take a piece of rope or string and route it where you want the cable to go. Then you can measure it to get an accurate length. Be sure to give yourself a cushion. You don't want to run out of wire if you have to recrimp!
     
  7. spanky

    spanky GMFS Senior Member

    Age:
    27
    Posts:
    8,281
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2005
    Location:
    Edmonton, Alberta
    good write up! i need to do this as well.
     
  8. cmatt

    cmatt GMFS Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    845
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    I used 3/4" split loom. The 1/0 cable from knukonceptz is so large, it is almost rated as 2/0. I think the diameter is between 5/8" and just under 3/4". The loom fit perfect around the wire with just enough wiggle room.
     
  9. cmatt

    cmatt GMFS Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    845
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    Thanks everybody. Just wanted to give my contribution to the site. :D
     
  10. DRTRAYDEUCE

    DRTRAYDEUCE JEEP JUNKIE

    Posts:
    1,480
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    May 21, 2005
    Location:
    charleston s.c.
    I need this, my cap won't keep up with my two 1000's and 600 watt amps. I get a really bad dim in the lights at full crank.
     
  11. Mauro

    Mauro Fresno State Bulldog

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    5,711
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    CenCal
    Quick question.....I know some people do it differently...

    Others
    pos ---> alt
    neg ---> chassis
    block ---> firewall

    Yours
    pos ---> alt
    neg ---> chassis
    neg ---> block

    Is there any advantage/disadvantage to either way of doing it?
     
  12. cmatt

    cmatt GMFS Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    845
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    To be honest, I don't really know. I guess grounding the block to body would include the body panels/ sheet metal of the truck. If you think about it, the body touches the frame in so many places, it may be a redundant ground.

    Looking at the stock wiring, the larger (-) battery lead only goes to the block and the (+) goes to the alternator and to the fuse block. I'm guessing you want the battery to have the best ground possible and you want to negate anything that could cause electrical interferance. Hence, bat to block and chassis.

    That is a good question. Maybe Forklift or Ratronn can weigh in on that.:think:
     
  13. Mauro

    Mauro Fresno State Bulldog

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    5,711
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    CenCal

    Yeah, I'm not tryin to rag on what you did....just would like some clarification :D Because until this thread, I was going to do it the other way :D
     
  14. cmatt

    cmatt GMFS Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    845
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    No worries. I'm curious about it too.:shake:

    Let me know what you find out.
     
  15. BlownSierra

    BlownSierra Ballin' on a Budget

    Posts:
    2,113
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 24, 2006
    Location:
    Vegas
    what is the reasoning behind fusing the link between the batt and alt? Is the stock link fused?
     
  16. Mauro

    Mauro Fresno State Bulldog

    Age:
    40
    Posts:
    5,711
    Likes Received:
    59
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    CenCal
    No its not, but some people choose to be on the safe side....it won't hurt. I'm not doing to be running a fuse on mine when I do it :D
     
  17. Kid_Rock_GTX

    Kid_Rock_GTX .

    Age:
    31
    Posts:
    1,932
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Feb 5, 2004
    Location:
    .
    Looks pretty much as factory as you can! LOL the best part is the electrical tape... cause its JUST like the factory does it!!! HAHHAHA
     
  18. Bradford

    Bradford Pssst! What's that noise?

    Posts:
    3,365
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2005
    Location:
    Broken Arrow, OK
    Looks good. I lik ethe fuse on the positve to alt post, I alwasy defend that fuse and everyone else says no to it. Better safe than sorry for me. I like your bettery terminals. How much did they run? What kind of clamping device for terminal and cable?

    The only thing i added to my big 3 was the body to frame ground under the drivers side door. Its good size for the factory but why not upgrade it also.
     
  19. cmatt

    cmatt GMFS Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    845
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    Got any pics of that body to frame ground? I may do that since I have some extra wire.

    I got all the supplies from www.knukonceptz.com. Here's the terminal:


    (click for larger picture) **NEW** KonFused Negative Battery Terminal
    Item #: KBT-30N
    Category: Battery Terminals
    Weight: 0.6 lbs
    Price: $18.99
    In Stock: Yes

    As you can see, they weren't the cheapest things. The quality is outstanding, IMO.

    It uses a compression fitting to hold the wire. I was skeptical at first, but am very satisfied with the connection.
     
  20. cmatt

    cmatt GMFS Member

    Age:
    39
    Posts:
    845
    Likes Received:
    2
    Joined:
    Feb 21, 2007
    Location:
    Mobile, AL
    Thanks. That was the idea behind it. I kinda dig the "factory/ stealth" look.
     

Share This Page