How To: The Big 3

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by cmatt, Jan 23, 2008.

Sponsored By: EMF Car Audio
  1. BOO5TED

    BOO5TED Resident Asshole

    Posts:
    10,337
    Likes Received:
    135
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    ATL
    Keep it.
     
  2. jonnyb

    jonnyb New Member

    Posts:
    16
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Sep 30, 2012
    Location:
    merced ca
    nice
     
  3. Vlado

    Vlado New Member

    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 4, 2012
    Location:
    Wisconsin
    I have a 2010 Sierra. I saw it asked but didnt really see a reply - This at all beneficial to the NNBS? Would this help with head light dim when traction contol kicks in?
     
  4. Nasty

    Nasty GMFS Member

    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    yes it is. electricity takes the easier path. larger wire meens it will flow better. kinda like when you kink a hose
     
  5. timidtemper

    timidtemper New Member

    Posts:
    29
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 19, 2012
    Location:
    NE PA
    Anyone with a nnbs do this yet? Do I order the same amount of 0 gauge as the guys with nbs? Just don't want to order 20ft and only need 10ft. Also on my positive terminal there's a extension that goes to a fuse, to put a new positive terminal on I'd loose that fuse cause its connected to the factory terminal so what do I do?
     
  6. nhoj_yelbom

    nhoj_yelbom New Member

    Posts:
    3
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 1, 2012
    Location:
    FL
    good write up, thanks!
     
  7. JAngeli

    JAngeli New Member

    Posts:
    1
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 2, 2013
    Location:
    Lisle, Ontario Canada
    On my list of to do's. Great info, thanks. :favorites13:
     
  8. max03

    max03 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    156
    Likes Received:
    49
    Joined:
    Nov 8, 2010
    Location:
    arkansas
    bump for some info on the nnbs.
     
  9. Stylin_Chevy

    Stylin_Chevy Go Big or Go home

    Posts:
    512
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2010
    Location:
    canada
    I did it to my nnbs and it the same way the nbs guys are doing it you should be good with the same amount of wire. I ended up ordering more since I was running the wires to my amp and doing the same to my other nnbs at the same time.
     
  10. TrapGod

    TrapGod New Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Location:
    Bay Area
    hey i want to do this but was wondering what exact cables and items you used. also will i be able to do this if i have an amp connect to my battery ?
     
  11. NtEzyBeingGreen

    NtEzyBeingGreen Scratchin' Gravel

    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Elko

    Post #19

    1/0 Gauge wire


    From The Phone
     
  12. TrapGod

    TrapGod New Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Location:
    Bay Area
    are both the red and black wire 1/0 guage wire ?
     
  13. Sparg93

    Sparg93 Troll Hunter

    Posts:
    102
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 25, 2010
    Location:
    MA
    Are you running a high output alternator or standard equipment?
     
  14. TrapGod

    TrapGod New Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Location:
    Bay Area
    the alternator is the stock one that came on the truck
     
  15. NtEzyBeingGreen

    NtEzyBeingGreen Scratchin' Gravel

    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Elko

    Yes, the red wire (power) also comes in blue


    From The Phone
     
  16. TrapGod

    TrapGod New Member

    Posts:
    12
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 26, 2014
    Location:
    Bay Area
    is the fuse that you use to connect to the alternator necessary or optional ? also what does it do ? does it improve the current flow or what ?
     
  17. NtEzyBeingGreen

    NtEzyBeingGreen Scratchin' Gravel

    Posts:
    125
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 31, 2012
    Location:
    Elko

    It's optional. People use if for safety incase of any electrical malfunctions.


    From The Phone
     
  18. Blugranite2k11Cc

    Blugranite2k11Cc GMFS Member

    Posts:
    724
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 23, 2011
    Location:
    Miami,FL
    on my NNBS it has a fuse right on the battery terminal, when I do the Big 3 upgrade can I bypass that fuse and got from the alternator straight to the battery? It's there for a reason so I was just going to wire it exactly like it came from the factory. Actually going to do it tonight so if I can get an answer sooner than later would be great.
     
  19. Nasty

    Nasty GMFS Member

    Posts:
    2,609
    Likes Received:
    27
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    if the run from the alt to the battery is short and no obstructions in the way then dont worry about a fuse. only time i fuse is if im going through metal, othjer than that no need for fuses in my opinion
     
  20. vivalabrandon43

    vivalabrandon43 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    78
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Mar 2, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    Just did this upgrade and WOW! The stock alternator and battery were unfortunately causing my amp to clip at a higher volume. Now, with the truck in park and idling I can turn the volume all the way up and BANG my W7 without dropping below 14v.

    I would recommend purchasing some 1/0 wire at Home Depot for $1.87 if your not crazy about aesthetics and have a bit of muscle
     

Share This Page