How To: The Big 3

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by cmatt, Jan 23, 2008.

Sponsored By: EMF Car Audio
  1. ILuvJDM

    ILuvJDM GMFS Senior Member

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    4,876
    Likes Received:
    566
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    At this point my plan is one 1/0 ground through the GBCM to the ground bolt on the alternator bracket. Then one 1/0 to the alternator. Any objections to this?
     
  2. Slammedchevy01

    Slammedchevy01 GMFS Senior Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    6,183
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Nor-Cal 925
    If anyone has factory pos/neg cables Lmk


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. 2005_Silverado

    2005_Silverado *

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    4,982
    Likes Received:
    310
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal
    same thing I did
     
  4. HackMcMASTER

    HackMcMASTER the internet BADASS

    Posts:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    135
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Your Girl's place
    copper distribution block
     
  5. BOO5TED

    BOO5TED Resident Asshole

    Posts:
    10,404
    Likes Received:
    187
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    ATL
    y no platinum
     
    Kids-at-Wawa likes this.
  6. HackMcMASTER

    HackMcMASTER the internet BADASS

    Posts:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    135
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Your Girl's place
    am #feriakru not fgt j.mo kru
     
  7. BOO5TED

    BOO5TED Resident Asshole

    Posts:
    10,404
    Likes Received:
    187
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    ATL
    Lulz
     
  8. Slammedchevy01

    Slammedchevy01 GMFS Senior Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    6,183
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Nor-Cal 925
    Moving my batt from bed to underhood. Did you all keep stock wiring or run all new?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. Nasty

    Nasty GMFS Member

    Posts:
    2,781
    Likes Received:
    99
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Just run new. Very easy. I even have some 1/0 I can send you
     
    Slammedchevy01 likes this.
  10. HackMcMASTER

    HackMcMASTER the internet BADASS

    Posts:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    135
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Your Girl's place
    imo no stock wires here
     
    Slammedchevy01 likes this.
  11. Slammedchevy01

    Slammedchevy01 GMFS Senior Member

    Age:
    33
    Posts:
    6,183
    Likes Received:
    36
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Nor-Cal 925
    What size ring trrminals are needed? Can I go 4 ga without a big system over stock?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. scott2353

    scott2353 New Member

    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Wow.........really nice..........love it.............!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  13. JB Long

    JB Long GMFS Member

    Posts:
    73
    Likes Received:
    7
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Called a local Alternator/starter repair shop and asked about rebuilding 105a with 145amp or 200amp internals, guy said he can't because they are physically different in size.
     
  14. Forklift

    Forklift Wanna B Jack o all Trades

    Posts:
    9,822
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver/Portland
    ok so get a 200
     
  15. HackMcMASTER

    HackMcMASTER the internet BADASS

    Posts:
    2,332
    Likes Received:
    135
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Your Girl's place
    TLDR version:
    if you have the ground sensor make sure your wire is running through it.

    Just wanted to try and pass on some information.
    After I did this I developed an issue where my battery would die sometimes randomly overnight. It could sit for weeks and start right up, other times it wouldn't start 8 hours after i drove it. The issue was very intermittent so I never related the two.
    This past winter i tried to solve this issue as it was starting to get annoying. I tried installing an amp-meter in the ground line so i could find the "intermittent draw" that I thought I had. Could never find it and truck would still tell me to casually fak off.
    I removed one of my ground wires from the battery and moved it to the engine block so it now looks like dis:
    battery-(cable1-)sensor-(cable1)-block-(cable2)-frame
    since then truck has started every time
     
    Kids-at-Wawa likes this.

Share This Page