How To: The Big 3

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by cmatt, Jan 23, 2008.

Sponsored By: EMF Car Audio
  1. ILuvJDM

    ILuvJDM GMFS Senior Member

    Age:
    29
    Posts:
    5,082
    Likes Received:
    664
    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2006
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    At this point my plan is one 1/0 ground through the GBCM to the ground bolt on the alternator bracket. Then one 1/0 to the alternator. Any objections to this?
     
  2. Slammedchevy01

    Slammedchevy01 GMFS Senior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Nor-Cal 925
    If anyone has factory pos/neg cables Lmk


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  3. 2005_Silverado

    2005_Silverado *

    Age:
    35
    Posts:
    5,430
    Likes Received:
    431
    Joined:
    Nov 3, 2007
    Location:
    SoCal
    same thing I did
     
  4. HackMcMASTER

    HackMcMASTER Big Louie

    Posts:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Pretoria, South Africa
    copper distribution block
     
  5. BOO5TED

    BOO5TED Resident Asshole

    Posts:
    10,577
    Likes Received:
    254
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    ATL
    y no platinum
     
    Kids-at-Wawa likes this.
  6. HackMcMASTER

    HackMcMASTER Big Louie

    Posts:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Pretoria, South Africa
    am #feriakru not fgt j.mo kru
     
  7. BOO5TED

    BOO5TED Resident Asshole

    Posts:
    10,577
    Likes Received:
    254
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    ATL
    Lulz
     
  8. Slammedchevy01

    Slammedchevy01 GMFS Senior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Nor-Cal 925
    Moving my batt from bed to underhood. Did you all keep stock wiring or run all new?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  9. Nasty

    Nasty GMFS Senior Member

    Posts:
    3,201
    Likes Received:
    239
    Joined:
    Nov 23, 2011
    Location:
    San Jose, CA
    Just run new. Very easy. I even have some 1/0 I can send you
     
    Slammedchevy01 likes this.
  10. HackMcMASTER

    HackMcMASTER Big Louie

    Posts:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Pretoria, South Africa
    imo no stock wires here
     
    Slammedchevy01 likes this.
  11. Slammedchevy01

    Slammedchevy01 GMFS Senior Member

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    6,208
    Likes Received:
    43
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    Nor-Cal 925
    What size ring trrminals are needed? Can I go 4 ga without a big system over stock?


    Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk
     
  12. scott2353

    scott2353 New Member

    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 4, 2016
    Wow.........really nice..........love it.............!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!
     
  13. JB Long

    JB Long GMFS Member

    Posts:
    77
    Likes Received:
    8
    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2016
    Called a local Alternator/starter repair shop and asked about rebuilding 105a with 145amp or 200amp internals, guy said he can't because they are physically different in size.
     
  14. Forklift

    Forklift Wanna B Jack o all Trades

    Posts:
    9,822
    Likes Received:
    10
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2004
    Location:
    Vancouver/Portland
    ok so get a 200
     
  15. HackMcMASTER

    HackMcMASTER Big Louie

    Posts:
    2,473
    Likes Received:
    160
    Joined:
    Feb 1, 2011
    Location:
    Pretoria, South Africa
    TLDR version:
    if you have the ground sensor make sure your wire is running through it.

    Just wanted to try and pass on some information.
    After I did this I developed an issue where my battery would die sometimes randomly overnight. It could sit for weeks and start right up, other times it wouldn't start 8 hours after i drove it. The issue was very intermittent so I never related the two.
    This past winter i tried to solve this issue as it was starting to get annoying. I tried installing an amp-meter in the ground line so i could find the "intermittent draw" that I thought I had. Could never find it and truck would still tell me to casually fak off.
    I removed one of my ground wires from the battery and moved it to the engine block so it now looks like dis:
    battery-(cable1-)sensor-(cable1)-block-(cable2)-frame
    since then truck has started every time
     
    Kids-at-Wawa likes this.
  16. Ktmrider

    Ktmrider New Member

    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    I had some stinger 4 gauge ofc laying around so redid my power and grounds to amp and added these. I have some leftover. What would you recommend after these 2 I did?

    20170729_180727.jpg
     
  17. benz88

    benz88 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    2,767
    Likes Received:
    529
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Location:
    Manitoba
    battery to ground
     
    Kids-at-Wawa likes this.
  18. Ktmrider

    Ktmrider New Member

    Posts:
    9
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Jul 28, 2017
    Battery to that same point on alt. Bracket or frame? Thanks
     
  19. benz88

    benz88 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    2,767
    Likes Received:
    529
    Joined:
    Dec 9, 2013
    Location:
    Manitoba
    battery to frame, same place the original battery to ground goes
     

Share This Page