Installing a backup camera? Check here!

Discussion in 'Audio & Electronics' started by jonyb, Feb 2, 2009.

Sponsored By: EMF Car Audio
  1. aReJaY

    aReJaY GMFS Member

    Posts:
    308
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 14, 2007
    Location:
    Arizona
    Not sure if this will help anyone, but on an '02 there isnt an additional plug in the BCM that has the green wire for the backup camera reverse signal. Like some have done/said, you can just run your stereo's reverse wire to your actual tail light, or another option is to run it to the fuse box under the hood.

    The fuse you want is a blue 15amp. If you are stading infront of your truck looking into the engine bay, it will be the forth fuse slot up from the bottom on the right.

    I snapped a pic to upload, but dont have anywhere to host it. Hope this helps someone.
     
  2. gulleyman

    gulleyman GMFS Member

    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    I'm gonna be putting one in my '02 soon and this would be really valuable to me, I'll PM you my email address, if you send me the pic I'll host it and post it:redxhitrf7:
     
  3. gulleyman

    gulleyman GMFS Member

    Posts:
    184
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2012
    Location:
    Texas
    What year truck is this from? I'm trying to put one in an '02:think:

    Oh crap I just saw my last post, lol, guess Ryan never emailed me the pic... a little help, anyone.... "Bueller"
     
  4. txmxer

    txmxer GMFS Member

    Posts:
    455
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 11, 2011
    Location:
    California

    can you explain how you mounted your camera/what you used? Ive never cut into the sheetmetal or anything like that, im not a huge fan of mounting it on my license plate because its so obvious, and chances of it getting stolen are pretty high.
     
  5. BOO5TED

    BOO5TED Resident Asshole

    Posts:
    10,329
    Likes Received:
    131
    Joined:
    Apr 4, 2005
    Location:
    ATL
    Sure he just used a hole saw.

    So I got a back up camera for Christmas and on the rca cable it has a single red wire. I know that connects to the reverse light for power to turn it on. It also has another wire that has black and red together, is that one if I want to connect it to a toggle switch to turn it on when ever I want?
     
  6. Bootstrap

    Bootstrap METTALIKATT

    Posts:
    4,916
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma City/edmond , OK
    I just got one cheap from xmas. Reviews are mixed, and its huge.. Going to make a mount for it and try it out

    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX HD
     
  7. Bootstrap

    Bootstrap METTALIKATT

    Posts:
    4,916
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma City/edmond , OK
    Im going to use the ground @ the trailer harnes...
    Any reason yall aren't
    Sent from my DROID RAZR MAXX HD
     
  8. Bootstrap

    Bootstrap METTALIKATT

    Posts:
    4,916
    Likes Received:
    4
    Joined:
    Sep 12, 2011
    Location:
    Oklahoma City/edmond , OK
    Got mine all installed, etc. but the damned auto-reverse function isn't working.. I tapped into the correct wire and everything, used one of the clamp on style connectors.. maybe I'll try a wire nut
     
  9. 01ZHOE

    01ZHOE GMFS Member

    Posts:
    1,691
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 19, 2012
    Location:
    Baton Rouge
    Shoot. Y'all make me feel like I ghetto rigged mine.
    Had an extra RCA cable going to HU so used that. Grounded it on a bolt. And ran the power to my highs amp. So it has power all the time but I have to manually switch it over
     
  10. GMClovinINtheMUD

    GMClovinINtheMUD GMFS Member

    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Location:
    Los Altos, California
    I really need this! I have a pioneer HU...anyone know what is the best camera for it? I looked on ebay they only had a few choices.
     
  11. GMClovinINtheMUD

    GMClovinINtheMUD GMFS Member

    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Location:
    Los Altos, California
  12. el kamino

    el kamino GMFS Member

    Posts:
    32
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 15, 2010
    Location:
    SoCal
  13. GMClovinINtheMUD

    GMClovinINtheMUD GMFS Member

    Posts:
    34
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Feb 13, 2013
    Location:
    Los Altos, California
  14. coltbean

    coltbean New Member

    Posts:
    18
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Aug 20, 2008
    Location:
    Arkansas
  15. Chris12

    Chris12 Shit Disturber

    Posts:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area, Ca.
    Is anyone buying "better" composite video cables for their camera's, or using coax?

    The plate mounted camera I bought came with 25' of average looking yellow RCA. I have a Crew Cab with a short bed. Should that be plenty long?
     
  16. Chris12

    Chris12 Shit Disturber

    Posts:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area, Ca.
    I ended up buying this

    [​IMG]


    I hope 25' is long enough :)
     
  17. Chris12

    Chris12 Shit Disturber

    Posts:
    1,967
    Likes Received:
    1
    Joined:
    Mar 17, 2010
    Location:
    Bay Area, Ca.
    I installed my stereo yesterday. I ran the ground and power wire for the camera to the reverse signal from my pioneer AVH-1500DVD


    [​IMG]

    , which is tied into my factory harness with a Metra GMRC-01 Axxess Non-Amplified/Non-OnStar Interface Harness for Select 2000-2005 GM Vehicles

    http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/31or8-XwGfL.jpg

    I bought a TaoTronics TT-CC17 Waterproof Color CMOS Car License Plate Frame Mount Rear View Backup Camera with 8 IR LED Night Vision (170 Degree Viewing Angle / Distance Scale Line / Zinc Metal Casing / Black)

    http://ecx.images-amazon.com/images/I/41k2GrUFGtL.jpg


    I assumed that the reverse signal coming off my head unit was powered, but I was wrong. Do I need to tie into the reverse light, before I run it up front? If this is the case, will I still be able to force to camera on manually (Probably not, but the HU does have the capability.

    This was one issue amongst many. My damn steering wheel controls don't work, the radio signal sucks, I can't push the HU all the way into its dash housing because there are too many GD wires, and the ipod connection is too short. (It was $50 and I ran it cleanly into my jumpseat armrest. I'll need to see it pionner makes an extender.)

    I was pissed last night, but I guess its all to be expected..
     
  18. Da Besh Mode

    Da Besh Mode New Member

    Posts:
    2
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Apr 8, 2013
    Location:
    Canada
    where is the camera mounted? above the licence plate?
     
  19. Zero

    Zero California Castaway

    Posts:
    9,422
    Likes Received:
    48
    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2008
    Location:
    Wake Forest, NC
    Any tips for my install I'm planning on doing this weekend?

    I'm installing an Alpine camera into an OEM navigation unit, but my truck has the module which lets you override DVD while in drive and turn on the camera when driving so I'd think it plugs directly into the module?
     
  20. GreyGhostz71

    GreyGhostz71 GMFS Senior Member

    Posts:
    7,356
    Likes Received:
    37
    Joined:
    Jun 26, 2010
    Location:
    louisiana
    i have the factory camera in my tailgate handle and im thinking of doin a shaved gate. How involved am i lookin at being if i have to relocate the camera to my license plate or something?
     

Share This Page