TPMS Reprogram

Discussion in 'Exterior' started by brian thomas, Dec 12, 2008.

Sponsored By: Tonneau Factory Outlet
  1. brian thomas

    brian thomas New Member

    Posts:
    19
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Oct 29, 2007
    Location:
    iowa
    I have an '08 GMC Yukon with no owners manual. I put a set of rims and tires from another '08 along with the correct part number tire pressure sensors but don't know how to program them. Do any of you have the proceedure or can steer me to it?
     
  2. MeanGreenZ71

    MeanGreenZ71 is Bi-Winning and a

    Age:
    26
    Posts:
    8,237
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Nov 30, 2005
    Location:
    NC
    Maybe this thread will help. TPMS THREAD

    If not, try searching for TPMS...
     
  3. JB

    JB 2008 RCSB

    Posts:
    9,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    usa
    First...go to each wheel and remove the valve stem caps, your gonna have to move fast between tires so any prep work you can do will help you during the process.
    Get a tool that you can use to let some air out of the stems.

    1) Set parking brake
    2) turn key to on but DO NOT start.
    3) take remote and press lock and unlock at the same time till the horn honks.
    4) go to driver side front and let air out (approx 5-15sec) till horn honks once.
    5) go to pass side front and let air out (approx 5-15sec) till horn honks once.
    6) go to pass side rear and let air out (approx 5-15sec) till horn honks once.
    7) go to drivers side rear and let air out (approx 5-15sec) till horn honks TWICE.
    8) now they are programmed
    9) recheck air pressure and set to whatever you need.
    10) re-install valve stem caps.

    There is a way to do the relearn thru your DIC on the dash if you have that.

    Search ebay and buy yourself a manual.

    BTW....Please reply and tell us if this works
     
  4. dwalton31

    dwalton31 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN formerly Groves, TX

    Anyone else have any info about doing it with your DIC ?? :rape: Wait, that didn't sound right, but really, is there a way to do this?
     
  5. BroheimDesigns

    BroheimDesigns GMFS Bro-Runner

    Posts:
    4,050
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 3, 2006
    Location:
    Corcoran, CA
    I have a programing tool @ work so i dont have to mess with the inflating/deflating :crazy:
     
  6. JB

    JB 2008 RCSB

    Posts:
    9,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    usa
    Its all in your manual, look under relearn tpms

    but seriously...the steps I gave take me maybe 60sec max...dont it at least 10 times on mine and friends trucks
     
  7. dwalton31

    dwalton31 GMFS Member

    Posts:
    551
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Dec 21, 2004
    Location:
    Knoxville, TN formerly Groves, TX

    Yeah, I remember reading about setting the system into learn mode with the DIC, but you still had to either inflate or deflate in a specific order for the system to recognize where each TPM was. I'll pull the manual back out and take another look. But your right, it sounds pretty easy once the system is ready to learn. Thanks JB :shake:
     
  8. Silverado MAX

    Silverado MAX Yea its all black....

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    South Flo-rida
    i've done it with mine through the dash. there is a learn mode where the truck will search for the new sensors one by one while you sit in the truck. hope this helps
     
  9. SamCarroll

    SamCarroll Fender Measurements?

    Posts:
    21,215
    Likes Received:
    46
    Joined:
    Oct 23, 2007
    Location:
    BRO-CAL
    i really need to get TPMS sensors in my truck
     
  10. Silverado MAX

    Silverado MAX Yea its all black....

    Age:
    34
    Posts:
    380
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jul 1, 2008
    Location:
    South Flo-rida
    Sam, I got some off e-bay for a $100. That was for the sensors only, I already had the valve stems, it may be a little more with those.... Getting tired of the warning every time you crank your truck up huh? Yeah I got tired of it real quick, had to get the sensors.
     
  11. Cook

    Cook Masshole

    Posts:
    5,300
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    May 11, 2007
    Location:
    Mass
    we have the tool at work. but sometimes its a pain in the ass. i like the method JB posted the best, works everytime
     
  12. JB

    JB 2008 RCSB

    Posts:
    9,635
    Likes Received:
    0
    Joined:
    Jan 9, 2004
    Location:
    usa
    I posted a ebay member name here several times...sells all 4 brand new with stems for $50 shipped otd.
     

Share This Page