GMC Truck Forum banner
1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hello from eastern nc. I am new to gmfs. I have a 04 z71 tahoe with a few mods. I have been thinkng of doing a 6.2ls swap. Has any one done this? I could use some help if any one has some input. Here is a list of my current mods.

5.3ls
bbk headers, custom dual exhaust, slp 160 degree thermostat,
k&n cai, msd wires, e-3 plugs, sct programmer 93 oct tune, slp underdrive pulley, stock 373's in the rear. Full line of royal purple

westin full brush guard, two 6" 100w kc lights, 55w 600k 9006 hid's, 35w 6000k 880 fog light hid's, recon black out led tail lights,
black out head light covers, window tint. Meter reads 1% on back
and 15% on front windows, 2" LEVELING KIT.

clarion nx702 touch screen dvd nav head unit, rockford t-1 component system in front and rear, 2 boston oval subs in a super bass box, rockford t-600 and t-2500 amps.

Future mods

roughcountry 6" lift, fuel 20x10 chrome deep octane wheels, e-fans.

I am lookng to achieve 500-600 bhp and am thinking of swaping my 5.3ls for a 6.2ls to do this. I have heard of 6.0 swaps but have not heard or seen of any one doing a 6.2 swap in a z71 tahoe. I just think that in order to achieve my hp goals it would be more realistic with a s/c 6.2 and a 4l80e swap. I would think with this swap it would allow me to run mid 12 in the 1/4 and massive torque for off road playing.

So if anyone has done this or knows any thing that will be helpful please let me know. Thanks

·
Registered
4,161 Posts
It would be easier to swap a Gen III 6.0 rather than a Gen IV 6.2. The 6.0 is more of a direct swap, whereas the 6.2 has a different reluctor wheel, cam gear, VVT, knock sensor locations and probably a few more sensors that are either in different locations or wired differently. Not impossible, but a lot more work for 12 extra cubes.

·
ya gotta pay to play
7,583 Posts