GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi guys
I just bought my first gm, I traded in my 2011 subaru STI for a 2014 GMC Sierra reg cab Z71
I live in the mountains so I need 4wd but I want to lower my new truck
I'm going out today to look for a lowering kit, All I can find are kits with 2/4 drop and I was wondering if I can go 3/5 ? I know it's only an inch but girls say every inch makes a difference hahaha.
Does anyone have a 4wd lowered 3/5? Does it drive smooth? Any issues? What kit are you using?
I plan on leaving the stock 20's for now till summer but after I'd like to put on 22's.
I'll be honest, I'm brand new to the lowering a truck thing and im not very mechanical.
Any advice would be be appreciated.
Thanks

·
Rollin Stoned
93 Posts
I have lowered a few 4x4 chevys at work but they have only been 2/3 and 2/4 drops. I have seen 3/5 on a 4x4 but dont have any info how it rides.

·
Registered
400 Posts
A buddy of mine had a 4x4 that I lowered to a 3/5, if you use the 2" Mcgaughys spindles with the Belltech adjustable struts it rides pretty damn smooth even on a 295/35R24. Out back I would use a Mcgaughys flip kit & lifting hangers with Belltech Nitro 2 shocks.
I think a 4/6 would max out your front drive shafts.
With a stock 20, you should have room for a nice size tire which will give you a good ride.
Hopefully this helps a lil

·
Giggity Giggity Giggity
3,169 Posts
Since 2wd and 4wd have shared the same suspension since '07 you can lower it just as much and as easily as a 2wd. The only issue might be the CV's but I don't see it being any worse than lifting it, so a little angle on them won't hurt.

·
Registered
68 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Thanks guys, I had no luck today finding a shop that lowers trucks but I'm going to keep looking Monday.
I'm pretty excited that I can go a little lower then I originally thought.

·
Registered
41 Posts