GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I recently bought a 2014 nnnbs sierra. Looking to upgrade those halogen bulbs with hids. I know they use 9006 bulbs. Anyone running 5ks? I have a slt so it has the leds. I think 5ks would prob be the closest to match. Anyway besides the hid kit. What else is needed? Relay harness? & the Can-bus anti flicker really necessary? Thanks

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #2 ·
Also anyone have a source to projectors or retro fit fog lights to match with the headlights? I also want to clear my the orange reflectors out of my headlights. Maybe do more. Someone knows of anyone that works on em? Im new to this sorry if im on the wrong tread

·
Nom Nom Nom
8,736 Posts
Hit up fastws6. He's got a sierra and has done it already. Also does retrofits.

·
Registered
4 Posts
I have hids from the retrofit source. 55w ballasts with 5k matches. Better light output. They have a 9012 kit. You will need canbus and hd harness.

Sent from my iPhone using Tapatalk

·
Registered
7,389 Posts
Go on Gm-trucks.com. They have an entire thread on what to do and it is very very detailed. A lot of members have 14's on there.

Sent from Tapashit

·
Registered
67 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
Alright thanks guys. Only confused because some guys say 35 watt 4500k bulbs match up. While others say 5k 55watt match up as well. Ill figure it out. Thanks again

·
Registered
7,389 Posts
Alright thanks guys. Only confused because some guys say 35 watt 4500k bulbs match up. While others say 5k 55watt match up as well. Ill figure it out. Thanks again
dont put 55watt in low beams. esp. projectors. and 55watt bulbs are a little more white because of how bright they are iirc

·
Registered
1,979 Posts
Cheaper sets of HIDs the 55w ballast will wash out some color making them close to 35w 4300k.

·
Registered
7,389 Posts
I'm happy with my 55w ballasts. Why not put them in the projectors?