GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So, I'm new to GMFS, was a fairly active member of Dmaxforum for a long time, but had a recent change of employment, so had to sell the dmax. But I couldn't just not have a truck!

Got a sweet deal on this truck. $500!
20141210_170406.jpg

...well, maybe just a good deal....
20141210_170419.jpg

Well... I guess the price was about right....
20141210_190701.jpg

Anyway... 04 ecsb LS, 254k miles, 5.3 had broken a timing chain(or something, never did actually check) took valve covers off and nothing moved when we cranked it.

$750 for a 99 junkyard motor with 105k, and a 1 year warranty.
New GM oil pump
LS2 timing set
20141212_150809.jpg

Gaskets, and block heater
20141212_123025.jpg

New water pump
20141213_091648.jpg

Plugs
Used injectors and intake/TB off pickup because new motor was cable drive.
Swapped pass side exhaust manifolds, because 99 motor had cali emissions.

Came with the headache rack, and toolbox full of tools too! Well...some tools, and a bunch of garbage...

Cut muffler out while cleaning out the fuel tank vent solenoid filter garbage, so replaced it with a nice glasspack!

Issues that need adressing...
Obviously Pass side front fender
Pass side doors...
Do something with the bed....Might be cheapest to buy fiberglass fenders and make it look like a prerunner!
Still has an exhaust leak up front somewhere, have to chase that down...
Keeps setting PO174/171 codes.. Bank 1&2 Lean.... TB dirty maybe...
Drivers seat has a giant hole chewed in it
Center console hinge is broke.
Needs a spare tire hoist. Have a brand new spare, but it rides in the bed atm
All but one speaker in the cab is blown out, and the head unit buttons are all worn off...
Got a Boss mp3 deck, with aux input, usb, card slot, 50x4W, 2x 6.5" round speakers, and 2 6x9 speakers for $56 shipped from walmart!
Chime harness/module for $15, and install bezel for $13 off ebay.