GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
GMFS slowest truck :read:
5,501 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
well, ive been trying to build a custom box for the past couple of days...ill tell you its not easy at all...this is my first attempt at a project like this, but its turning out very nice IMO, just taking forever. my friend wanted to buy a prefab box off ebay or sumthing (a thunderform or something similar) and i saw the price and how little airspace it actually had, and told him i could build something nicer for less money...so far we have spent a total of $105 on the box (sheet of mdf, fiberglass matt and resin, other little supplies) and will prob spend another 20 or so for paint and bondo. i hardly got anywhere the first day i worked on it and today i got pretty far IMO. we got an amp tray built into the structure of the box and tomorrow we start layin fiberglass...what fun thats is gonna be. if anyone ever has the chance to look at the area under a dodge dakota w/o the tool tray there, please do take a look...its tiny and the bottom is really odd shaped. ill see about gettin some pics tomorrow before we start and maybe when we finish for the day...this project is gonna take a while before we actually do finish it tho, but thats alright cuz he still has to order the amp and one other sub. my estimates on the size of each enclouse is 1 cubic foot, maybe a tad more. tomorrow all i plan on doing is gettin the bottom glassed and cut out the pieces for the top, but im not gonna cut any holes in it yet. So far everything is lining up just about right and we have everything siliconed really well. I wanna see pics of boxes that anyone else has built or has had built. its a good project in that its a nice learnin experience for me and my buddy...and it gives us something to do. i might just wait and post a bunch of pics of the truck at once along with the box if anyone wants to see a dodge dakota thats not so stock and has been built by me w/ the owners money...lol

·