GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Semper Fi
154 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure it's been posted about somewhere on here, but I can't seem to find it. So I'll make my own thread.

I have a 77 GMC 1500 with the original 350 motor in it. I've got a buddy with a TBI 454 that i would like to put in my truck.

I was wondering if someone could give me a quick over view over what all I would need to get/do to my truck in order to put a fuel injected engine in it.

I've got no experience in this area, so any advice/help would be awesome. :shake:

·
Registered
6 Posts
i'll take a shot at it, and hope others will chime in with what i missed. first we'll talk fuel, and you'll need an electric pump that is capable of 35 to 40 psi at the tbi unit. i have seen inline pumps work for this kind of swap, and there are companys that can supply you with a in-tank setup to accomplish this task (apeusa.com is one), and the return must go back into the tank within 1/2" from the bottom because of high pressure return, possible vapor build-up that can create unsafe pressure in the fuel tank. the easiest/safest way to go is get a tbi tank for an 87 1/2 ton because this was the first year for the tbi and the 87 is the same body style as yours and will bolt right in (plumbing would still be custom fabbed unless u use all 87 plumbing too). the reason you need a fuel injection tank is because it has an anti-slosh sump pickup in the tank so the pump won't cavitate/starve in turns and always has fuel flow. if you go with the 87 tank you'll need a fuel pump that will flow enough for the big block which would have to be a 3/4 or 1 ton 454 equipped truck pump. the 3/4 or 1 ton tanks may work but are usually larger, i'm not sure, but the pump will work. again this easiest because it's all facory setup with the fi pump in the tank.