GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 54 Posts

·
Registered
15 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey folks, checking back in from years past. I used to own a 2005 Sierra SLT half ton, beautiful truck, loved it. Alas, it sat too much (I was a field tech with a company truck). Rust got ahold of a lot of things, brake lines, fuel lines, tank flange, never ending evap codes.

I got out of it and into a new 2012 Tundra. Fast forward 7 years. The Tundra has been a great truck. 100% reliable, never let me down. Tows good, plows snow great, only done brakes and tires (and maintenance items).

Anyway, I recently took a new job where I’m driving my own vehicle for work. It has put me in a position of wanting to get back into something more comfortable. If I could pick one element about the Sierra thqt I have missed (sorely) is the comfort. My 05 was an insanely comfortable pickup, and I have missed it big time. So with this new job, consistent use of my truck, comfort has become a top priority.

I am considering getting back into a GMC. I’ll skip ahead to the 3 Sierras I’m looking at, all CC’s. I have a 2016 2500 SLT with the 6.0, a 16 Denali 1500 with the 6.2, a 16 SLT 1500 with the 5.3

While I like the idea of the 6.2 or the 6.0, I was happy with the 5.3 I had in the 05.

I plow my driveway with my truck, and will be planning on moving my 7.5 Fisher HT to the truck I end up going with. My 05 SLT did it, never had a problem.

So that’s my story....just wanted to see what’s new, what’s good, what’s bad...hopefully make a move in the next few weeks. The Tundra needs and exhaust. I’d like to not have to drop that money into it if I’m dumping it....so I won’t be waiting too long.

Thanks for your input!

·
jewish misanthropist
466 Posts