GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 89 Posts

·
Registered
42 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I call this project a controversy because I believe that there are things I plan on doing to this truck that some will love, and some will hate. I am a person who appreciates engineering and craftsmanship, but also has an eye for design. So what may seem to rub some the wrong way at first may end up serving a great function and end up looking great in the end. There is very little about this truck that can be found in any "how to" or mass produced parts that can be purchased and attached. This definitely NOT a "Kookie Kutter Kustoms" build.

Here's a little about me. I am a mechanical engineering student and I work in a research and development lab for ballistic composite materials. The fancy title doesn't come with a fancy paycheck, so that's what forced a lot of the lack of "off the shelf" parts. Before I worked for the lab, I owned a body shop, and before that I worked as a metal fabricator. So I kinda know what I'm doing.:crazy:

And now, the interesting part. The truck is a 2001 Silverado regular cab.

The safe and common plans are:
-3/4 frame, with 2"x3" mandrel bent rails and a very uniqe rear link system.
-Channeled do the doors
-24" 3 piece wheels (not sure of the brand yet)

And the Controversial part:
-Gullwing doors (Pivoting from the center of the roof with a custom made hinge. Not lambo's and not that gate hinge at the top of the door bullshit that you see at the DUB show.)
-Carbon Fiber Laminated Hood, Roof, and Partial tailgate skin.
-Full Carbon Fiber Tonneau (custom made)
-Shaved body lines
-70' C10 style rear design + similar tail lights
-Redesigned front end - extended hood lip by 1" (styled after 2000ish Silverado SS concept)

Oh yeah, and its gonna be green and absolutely NO CHROME.

Well that's the abstract. I'll post pics of where I'm at so far, in a few.

·
Smiggles
3,493 Posts
damn sounds like a plan, post lots of pics

·
California Castaway
9,402 Posts