GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Guys I'm fairly new to the truck world been playing in vets and trans ams and Camaros for the last 20 years... I need to know how hard it is to take a Chevy Silverado rear end and convert it to a suburban four-link. What's entailed do the u-joints line up is it an easy process or is it something I need to avoid

·
Registered
Solid axle '01 Tahoe/'03 Sierra/'18 Silverado
150 Posts
So if I'm reading this right, you're wanting to take the differential from a suburban or tahoe, plus the factory upper control arms, lower control arms, track (panhard) bar, and coil springs and put them into a Silverado by welding the corresponding factory brackets cut off the donor's frame to your Silverado frame?

The shape of the frame is different from SUV to pickup. So at the very least the brackets would need to be different to locate all the other stuff in the correct locations.

But I'm a fan of not using the stamped steel, light duty, non adjustable control arms anyway. You'd be so far ahead building arms that are adjustable. Welding frame side mounts in the correct location to have optimum geometry for your driveshaft length and the ones you'd build would be stronger by far as well.

You'd be able to use the factory SUV differential and coil springs pretty easily at that point. As to your other question. The u joints wouldn't be an issue.

Just my $0.02, based on my own project.
I might be way off here

·
n. fil-dert.
7,063 Posts
Agreed I'd fab that all day and end up with better geometry, articulation, strength, and looks. If you can weld it's a fairly straight forward task.

Reactions: Taspeed

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #5