GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
5.5MPG!!!!!!!All Day Long
123 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok....here's the deal. alot of u know my abt my throttle response problem and have witnessed it. i dont know how many other mechanics there r on here and i have 15 years experience myself. so here's my ?. has anyone ever heard of the stator in ur torque converter freewheeling and causing lack of acceleration. lemmee explain...... when u floor the truck in park it just gradually revs up. in gera it is quicker to half throttle it than to full throttle it cause it revs very slow when u full throttle it. make sense?. now i've heard of torque converters freewheelin insid ethe converter, but that wouldnt cause this problem i dont think. has anyone ever heard of this? it is drive by wire and has had the tac module replaced....the pedal assembly replaced and the acceleration module replaced so far. personally, me and my boss and another buddy of mine that owns a shop think it is in the pcm somewhere. anybody?

·
[>
3,255 Posts
Didnt you get a Nelson Tune? Maby call him to see what he thinks. Maby get a "stock" one back and see if it fixes it?

Just an idea.

·
a.k.a. turbodan
3,220 Posts
it revs slowly when its just idling in the driveway? maybe try to manually rev it up on the throttlebody(dont know if you can do this on fly by wire) I have heard of the stator spinning in the case, but its usually got one(or more) of the rollers or springs out of it, or is cracked to cause the slippage. If you can see your TQ good from the inspection cover, i would try to see if it has balooned up or is discolored in any way.