GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
well today i changed out my spark plugs and added some new spark plug wires...i think im going to buy a new distributor cap tomorrw....but yeah ill post a pic of one of my plugs cause its soo fucked...i mean the shape it was in is soo bad...it was cracked on both sides...like hella cracked...

·
03 Tahoe
1,364 Posts
Make sure you do the rotor as well.....

Cameron

·
Registered
1,816 Posts
I don't think you have a distributor cap...

I started flushing my cooling system today..wahoo....new belt, maybe hoses and a new thermostat coming later this week..wahoo...and alll new antifreeze.

EDIT: OH you're talking about the '92...:banghead:

·
Registered
658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Physh1 said:
Make sure you do the rotor as well.....

Cameron

im still learning..im not too great with my truck yet..what do you mean rotor.....???

·
Registered
1,816 Posts
Its the part inside the cap that spins around. Just tell the parts guy you need a cap and rotor, he'll know what you mean, and once you get it off, you'll know what to do (just pull straight up on it and it will come off, then push the new one back on) :) Don't disconnect all the wires at once either...one at a time...

·
03 Tahoe
1,364 Posts
Joshs2002Silverado said:
im still learning..im not too great with my truck yet..what do you mean rotor.....???
Inside the distributor cap there is a rotor that spins on the distributor shaft. This rotor distributes spark energy to each of the 8 points from the center point (which is where the spark energy comes from the coil. Most replacement distributor caps include a new rotor....it's very easy to install.

Cameron

·
Registered
658 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
are they expesive...i will have to wait till i get my paycheck to do it either way....but also are there any good mods for the tbi engines that are of reasonable price and have a good pay off....