GMC Truck Forum banner
1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
My headlights are yellow and my brother is telling me to buy some off ebay with "cups" that are in front of the bulb, says it will work better with HIDs, his stock wrx headlights have the cups.

I've seen some on ebay that have them, the "tyc altezza" style do. I just wonder if the HIDs fit, they are a bit longer than the halogen bulbs.

http://cgi.ebay.com/ebaymotors/94-9..._trkparms=65:12|39:1|72:1171#ebayphotohosting
Those look like they might have them but the picture's not that good. I'm having a hard time finding TYC altezzas for OBS.

Anyone with this combo?

·
I like 'em white
2,749 Posts
The stock lights have those don't they?
Probably not because the stock 9006 bulbs have that painted tip that pretty much does the same thing. I have no experience with silvy headlights but my crystal clear S10 headlights did have the same shield over the bulb. The HID bulb barely cleared but it still fit however the light pattern sucked so bad I went back to the stockers within a day or two. Even with the glare shield they still put out a ton of scattered light. Most aftermarket headlights just arent as good as stock and I would venture to guess this would be the same with silvy clears.

·
I don't have a truck
10,439 Posts
Probably not because the stock 9006 bulbs have that painted tip that pretty much does the same thing. I have no experience with silvy headlights but my crystal clear S10 headlights did have the same shield over the bulb. The HID bulb barely cleared but it still fit however the light pattern sucked so bad I went back to the stockers within a day or two. Even with the glare shield they still put out a ton of scattered light. Most aftermarket headlights just arent as good as stock and I would venture to guess this would be the same with silvy clears.
My 2005 Silverado had them and it used 9006's

·
Registered
218 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·