GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
has driven a Ford lately.
2,478 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Was thinking it might be nice for camping/other activities to have a second battery in the truck as a reserve. The first battery would be a deep cycle battery (yellow top or whatever) and the second a cheaper item (costco/kirkland probably). I'd want a switch on the second battery (which would normally be closed), such that I could (potentially) fully drain the deep-cycle battery and not be stranded.

Good idea? Bad idea? The one thing I've never seen here is the switch, but I'm a total noob when it comes to this stuff.

·
Registered
34 Posts
look at the painless dual battery solenoid. I'm installing one on my truck for this purpose (amps 2x inverters, 2x compressors etc...) It isolates each battery form each other and when You want to start it up it uses both the batteries amps to get it to turn over. It also has three modes depending on the swith location, Here is a description for each:

The selector switch has three positions, which operates the system.
Switch centered; the main battery is used only for vehicle operation. The solenoid is not activated
and the auxiliary battery will not be charged.
Switch activating green light position; the main and auxiliary batteries are connected for charging
and starting and the green light is illuminated when the key is in the on position.
Switch activating the red light position; the main and auxiliary batteries are connected together
and the red light is illuminated at all times regardless of ignition switch position.

Here is the product I'm talking about:http://www.painlessperformance.com/webcatalog/largeview.php?SearchField=40102

·
Wanna B Jack o all Trades
9,823 Posts
you can get just a 200 amp relay for $40-$70ish and then you just need terminals and wire

·
Registered
34 Posts