GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
472 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
How does it look? This is my first time so I really would like to make sure they're set correct.
Now that I'm looking at it, in the 1st pic theres a few bare spots. I must've missed it when I painted the gear. If you zoom in you'll see what I mean. Just don't want to confuse anyone.
Thanks in advance!
-Brad
EDIT: Forgot to add these are motive 5.13 gears in a gm 10 bolt

·
Registered
636 Posts
contact looks decent b/t the ring and pinion. PM bryan (Axis T6), he can point you in the right direction.

·
GMFS Enforcer
3,568 Posts
Pattern is too deep and the gear paint is not thin enough. I would consult the gear install sticky. What pinion shim is in there now? What shim did you start with? For 10 bolts, a good starting shim is 0.036".

What is the backlash in that pic?

·
Registered
472 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
Pattern is too deep and the gear paint is not thin enough. I would consult the gear install sticky. What pinion shim is in there now? What shim did you start with? For 10 bolts, a good starting shim is 0.036".

What is the backlash in that pic?
I did read through the sticky. Thanks for that write up by the way, thats what gave me the motivation to do this. Anyways I have .036" as the pinion depth and the backlash is about 7 thousandths….I coulda swore I nailed it but apparently not….What should I do? Increase the backlash a little?
Also how do i thin up the paint? I'm just using what came with the kit. wd-40?

·
Registered
826 Posts
I think he means don't lay the paint down so thick on the gear ? I could be wrong

·
Registered
826 Posts
in the sticky I remember seeing only a little paint on about two teeth

·
Registered
472 Posts
Discussion Starter · #8 ·
Yea I sorta went over kill. Well I got it pulled right now and I'm gonna clean it off and mess with the backlash a little and hopefully I can get this damn thing

·
GMFS Enforcer
3,568 Posts