GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
FFR Fabrication
8,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm going to lay out the basics and hopefully you guys can help me out -

I'm going to be getting 37" tires, however I am running 3.42 gears right now. Currently I'm running 35" tires and I think it's time to bump it up.
I'm completely new with all of this so bear with me.
I was thinking 4.56 would be sufficient but I'm not sure how it all works. I'm also running IFS so I don't know what also needs to be done there.

The idea of lockers came across my mind. I haven't really taken my truck anywhere lately, so basically at this point its getting some offroad use but majority on road. Would lockers be a good idea to put in at the same time as gears rather then put them in another time down the road? What would be your guy's opinions on that?

Is there anything else I might be missing amongst all of this? Again, I don't know a lot about this kind of thing so any help would be greatly appreciated. Thanks guys.

·
EMBRACE WHAT'S LEFT
3,487 Posts
do 4.88 gears with a detroit true trac which its better to do it all at once

ifs should be fine

·
Fortune Favors The Brave
6,321 Posts
4.88's for sure, gears help so much man. I don't knwo what I would do without them. It's like your truck gets a re-birth at life when you get new gears

·
Registered
505 Posts
4.88s are perfect for 37s, you won't regret it.

·
FFR Fabrication
8,144 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
4.88 sounds good to me. Do I need to worry about anything for the IFS or will it not matter? Again, I have no clue how that all works out.

It's been said to do it all at once, which I totally agree with, due to making it a hassle of doing it at separate times.

As far as lockers go, v6offroad mentioned Detroit True Trac. Are there any other ideas out there along those lines? And yet again, I'm not sure what would suit the situation best.

Thanks guys for the info so far.

·
Senior Military Member
5,197 Posts