GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
GMFS founding member
4,004 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hey, i'm new to this truck. before i start tearing it apart i'd like to know what i'm doing. if anyone can advise the best way to remove and replaced the headunit and speakers, i'd appreciate it. my audio shop says the ABS is routed through the radio and won't work if i don't use some sort of box that plugs into the harness? can anyone elaborate on this? also will infinity kappa 60.5CS 6.5" components fit in the front doors? sorry for all the questions. thanks.

·
Drive It Like Ya Stole It
6,656 Posts
What year truck? If its A 99+ I know for a fact the 6.5s will fit, I replaced mine. Pull off the door panel (few screwes than lift up and pullout) and the old speakers are clipped in.

·
GMFS founding member
4,004 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Dark Eternal said:
What year truck? If its A 99+ I know for a fact the 6.5s will fit, I replaced mine. Pull off the door panel (few screwes than lift up and pullout) and the old speakers are clipped in.
it's a 2004. i've removed the door panels in my tundra dozens of times, these sound like they're similar. can you advise how to remove the headunit? thanks.

mattwho said:
You will lose door chimes but that should be it. nothing to do wiht the ABS.
fwiw, they also said my check engine light will come on too. i'm going to pull the headunit and see if either of these two things happen. if they don't, i won't deal with this shop again. they're starting to sound like they're full of shit. they also told me my GM truck will require a special $100 part to make the remote starter work and offered to charge $350 for a crimestoppper remote starter. anyways, running the ABS through the radio? i was like WTF? i'll install it myself, thank you.