GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
72 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
since i read a previous post of someone in my old thread i decided to start a new one. I am a new driver just getting my license and just getting my first truck. I do want it for looks mostly but i am still going to take it offroading here and there. What should i get for it to look really good? (I know you all have your best opinions) I am on a pretty tight budget but i do not mind on getting a loan and paying it off. Just tell me your best ideas. 1996 Silverado, 4x4.

·
Registered
1,816 Posts
Well, I'd never get a loan for a truck mod, its just not worth it.

but....that aside, I'd proabably start out small (just tires...maybe different wheels...), and then once I had more money go up. If you buy say 16x8 rims and some 285/75/16 tires now, you can fit them with no lift, and then save up. By the time the tires wear out, you can probably save up enough to pick up a lift and new tires, which will fit on the 16x8 rims. Thats what I would do if i were on a tight budget.

·
Registered
1,816 Posts
ooh right..uh . Tire size.

what mine has:

http://www.resnet.trinity.edu/avaselaa/the_blazer.htm

They are bigger than stock, but not so big that you need a lift.

the 285 is tread width in millimeters, which measures out to about 11.4"
the 75 is aspect ratio, it sort of tells you what kind of profile the tire has, taller or shorter. Like a 35 would be the low pro tires that those crazy lowridah's run, and 70-75 is about a normal truck tire.
16 is teh rim size in inches. If thats not right...

correct me. :)

·
Registered
832 Posts