GMC Truck Forum banner
1 - 20 of 31 Posts

·
Rehab is for quitters
2,622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
so ever since i have had my hids my passenger light would flicker during the day and when it got dark it would power up just fine. i wasnt sure if this was because of the ballast or auto headlights or what but never cared because they lit up at night. last night my passenger light completely went out, so i started playing with the light knob to see if i could get it to turn on, it would turn on for a couple seconds then shut back off and it keeps doing this whether its from hitting a key on the remote or turning them on manually or auto. is this just a bad ballast or what?

·
I don't have a truck
10,439 Posts
You're doing so many things wrong here.

1. Pull the DRL fuses so they don't come on during the day. Fuse 31 and 33 underhood. They get little voltage during the day, starving the ballast for power. It's VERY bad for it. The flickering is a bad sign as well.
2. Turn off your approach lighting and exit lighting at the DIC. Flashing HIDs and shutting them off before they're warmed up is bad for the bulbs.
3. Disable your auto lights. The key going to ON to START makes them flash at night, also very bad for them.

Honestly I wouldn't be surprised if you've ruined the ballast and/or bulb with all that abuse. Time to hit up Spencer!

·
Rehab is for quitters
2,622 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
well i was only flashing them on and off yesterday and today to see if they would power up. ill see about ordering another set and taking your advice to change that stuff.

·
I don't have a truck
10,439 Posts
well i was only flashing them on and off yesterday and today to see if they would power up. ill see about ordering another set and taking your advice to change that stuff.

I know, but every time you unlock the doors at night, they flash. Every time you turn the key at night, they flash.

It's a must with HID's to do all that. Otherwise they'll wear out.

·