GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 14 of 14 Posts

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm sure you guy's are going to probally think I'm stupid but I might as well ask now. Can someone explain the soul porposes of power programers, chips, and performance tunes? Like what do they do for your truck? I'm just getting into the truck scene because of my new truck. I use to be a ATV kinda guy and now I want to learn more about different stuff on my truck.

·
Registered
3,381 Posts
Well, from your screen name I assume you have a 2000 Silverado.

Programmers let you adjust the parameters of your factory tune to optimize performance& adjust settings for tire sizes and gear changes.

There aren't any chips for your truck as far as I know.

Custom tunes are just tuned PCMs, where someone has used a program to adjust the parameters of your factory tune to optimize performance.

Custom tunes are gonna net you the best gains.

I prefer my handheld predator programmer just so that I can adjust everything whenever I want and can set it back to stock just as easily.

hope this helps

·
Registered
144 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
so a custom tune is about the same as a programmer just with a programmer you adjust yourself and can always change it?

·
Registered
32 Posts
so a custom tune is about the same as a programmer just with a programmer you adjust yourself and can always change it?
NO, a handheld programmer is very generic so that it can be installed on any vehicle that is the same make, model and year and gains are very minimal. a custom tune can be tailored to your exact needs and the results will be greater.

·
resident pyromaniac
7,498 Posts
NO, a handheld programmer is very generic so that it can be installed on any vehicle that is the same make, model and year and gains are very minimal. a custom tune can be tailored to your exact needs and the results will be greater.