GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm still new to this but I was wondering if anyone knew what all I needed to install the pioneer app radio on a 2013 Chevy silverado keeping the steering controls and what not. Thanks in advance

·
Registered
1,019 Posts
What headunit are you wanting to use AppRadio with?

I'm about to install the Pioneer 8500bhs double din on my 2010 Silverado 1500 non factory Bose Audio with the factory steering wheel controls, Onstar, and XM. I've also been doing a lot of research on your question.

From what I've read and talked with several area installers, these harnesses eliminate the need to cut/splice your factory wiring:

Pac OS-4

www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004CW59J4/ref=aw_wl_ov_dp_1_4?colid=UBKE3DQXQC57&coliid=I2CAE8P5B5G37P

Pac Steering Wheel Control Interface

www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B004HKBY8G/ref=aw_wl_ov_dp_1_5?colid=UBKE3DQXQC57&coliid=I11XSF765Z9FMN

You won't be able to reuse your OEM XM tuner on a pioneer head unit, must less any aftermarket headunit if I'm not mistaken. So if you want to keep XM on an aftermarket headunit, you'll need:

www.amazon.com/gp/aw/d/B007T0NM2M/ref=aw_wl_ov_dp_2_7?colid=UBKE3DQXQC57&coliid=I2E4VSVSWHFE2M

This is a great write-up about what you need to connect a Samsung Galaxy S3/S4 to AppRadio:

www.appradioworld.com/2013/08/how-to-correctly-connect-samsung-galaxy.html?m=1

The link above provides you with additional links to the devices you'll need to run AppRadio in conjunction with your particular smartphone. Definitely shop around for these required additional wiring and adapters. There are some pretty good deals well below MSRP.
Hope this helps you.

·
Registered
5 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
That's perfect thanks a lot man! The head unit is the Pioneer SPH-DA110 AppRadio 3, I read somewhere that they made a PAC module with the steering wheel interface all in one, I could be blowing smoke but I believe that's what I read. Thanks man

·
Registered