GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Here is the background.

I recently purchased a 2011 Silverado single cab long bed. It came already with 2 inch blocks under the leaf springs in the back and a 2.5 inch leveling kit on top of the strut.

The truck is 2 inches away from being level. I would rather add 2 more inches up front instead of taking off the 2 inch blocks from the rear.

I talked to my mechanic and he said that it would be fine to get a second leveling kit as long as I bought the one that goes under the strut.

Is this safe for your truck?

All in all I would have a 2.5 leveling kit on top of the strut as well as a 2 inch leveling kit under the strut.

Please let me know. I am new to lifting truck.

·
This place sucks dicks
4,938 Posts
Stacking leveling kits is one of the worst ideas Ive ever heard. Theres a reason why suspension manufacturers dont offer 4.5" "leveling" kits.

Also, you need a new mechanic.

·
cunts
2,743 Posts
No. At this point, you need an actual 4" + lift kit. Or you can just remove the rear block.

·
Mmm Sandwich
15,554 Posts
I would suggest not taking anything to that mechanic again. But if you choose to listen to him you should be keeping him busy for a while.

Anything more than 2.5" of level is not ideal. Your angles will be only get worse to the point of excessive wear

·
Yake is a Fgt
3,582 Posts
Just in case everyone else didn't cover it good enough for you, yes, stacked leveling kits are bad. No, you shouldn't do it.

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
I understand that stacking leveling kits is bad. And by that I am guessing you mean putting two on top of each other?

These are two different type of leveling kits. a spacer that goes on top of the strut and a spacer that goes on the bottom of the strut.

Is it bad to have one of each?

These two leveling kits will not be touching.

·
Yake is a Fgt
3,582 Posts