GMC Truck Forum banner
1 - 20 of 60 Posts

Registered
1993 K1500 Suburban
Discussion Starter · #1 · (Edited)
on my 1993 K1500 Burb. I have zero experience in this kind of swap. Have replaced a few gas engines with rebuilds but this is a totally different animal. That said, it is a lot of money. I do think a person gets what they pay for, I dunno.

I'm sure it is these people seem legit and came highly recommended.

Registered
for that much you can build you a 454 with a supercharger kick azz Performabuilt tranny standalone tranny controller and EFI. With money left over to pimp out the inside, including audio.... maybe even a lift kit if you wanted...

30k can do a lot in a 93 full size anything....

Sent from my SM-S908U using Tapatalk

Registered
Yow. That is a lot for a frankenstein truck... And at the end of the day, you have a 40 yo burb with a 20 yo used drivetrain. And even with $10k for the parts truck, it's not gonna be low miles at current used prices.

This is the sort of project where you are either loaded, and tell the guy to get it done, or you do it yourself , because that's stupid money for a vehicle that, when it's completed, will still be regularly in the shop because everything else is worn out.

And stuff like
$600 for fluids? MAYBE if everything is Amsoil, more likely they get everything from Walmart...
$190 for paint? They are just going to spray bomb the engine, trans and any fab work to the frame & tunnel.

They are even jacking you for the motor mounts:

Edit:
And there's a whole lot of "figure out X"... It comes across as they haven't done this kind of project before. Plan for that estimate to be significantly below the final tab, and for everything to not work exactly right, right away.

Reactions: Peewee0413

Registered
I mean do you think people's time is free? There's a lot of hours that will be going into that swap and that $30k ESTIMATE is going to turn into $50k+ very fast.