GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
1,902 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Im wanting to lower my truck soon, wanting a 4/6. Im looking for your alls recomendations for components because Im new to the lowered suspension. Truck is a 2000 Chevrolet Regular Cab Long Bed 2WD.

Im wanting coils and spindles up front. Im looking at the Belltech #2508 Spindles. Works with 17" or larger wheels, so my Denali wheels should clear when theyre on for winter. Coils undecided, prob whatever I can get a deal on.

The rear is where my questions are. Are flip kits and notches interchangeable between short beds and long beds? I figured there would be shims of some sort for the rear end to compensate for driveshaft angle. I was looking at a kit like this maybe? http://www.stylinconcepts.com/part....familyid/1741/subcategoryid/373/categoryid/30

Also, what shocks do you all like. Bang for the buck, I want to buy stuff that works well, but I dont want to break the bank either.

·
Later, Tony
7,265 Posts
LCA's suck! The bumpsteer is horrible and the BJs go out often (just as 85cruisers have)
I thought the upper helped to correct the issues associated with just using the lowers? He never got his uppers put on as he got the lift bug shortly after their purchase. The spindles are nice because they maintain factory steering geometry when used by themselves, but using them with a drop coil, I'd assume that the steering geometry would be changed, thus resulting in similar problems as with the lca's :think:

·
Registered
1,902 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
Im not too worried about the aspect of bump steer. Ive seen a few guys have trouble with correct alignment with LCA's. So then you need to buy uppers to correct that. Then they supposedly eat ball joints.. it goes on and on.