GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Sunburnt or Drunk
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok guys these are some of my progress pics of my new box, i would like to paint it the same color of my truck. but i got a question that might be a stupid one but here goes anyways, what is the best thing to use to get the smooth look? can i just put on a coat of fiberglass resin without any mat?, then bondo and what not. will the resin fill the tiny cracks? i have never done fiberglass work before so im kinda lost here. but if all else fails, i can have it shot with bedliner
Picture021.gif

Picture020.gif

Picture019.gif

·
Sunburnt or Drunk
153 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
yep, thats the plan, gotta make one more cut to run the wires and keep smoothing,
whifflebat- when you say primer you mean like body filler bondo or rattle can primer?

·
why jonny ringo...
629 Posts
my suggestion would be to make a trim panel out of 1/4 or 1/2" that has a window for the amp, and two holes for the subs, that goes from side to side of your truck, that way you have a mostly flat panel that doesnt require sanding inside corners. also, if you end up not liking it, you dont have to unwire your amp and subs to work on the piece. you could also add inserts and such to give it a different look. as for what to do for painting, i've never tried to get a piece of wood ready for paint, your best bet would be to get some feather fill i suppose (heavy fill primer), and lay it down thick.

I looked at some pics of my stuff, and i guess i had some wood exposed before using my filler primer (pic 1&3) above the radio location.
108-0829_IMG.gif

108-0900_IMG.gif

these are out of order, but i found this one last, shows a lot of the wood beforehand
108-0815_IMG.gif

·
Wanna B Jack o all Trades
9,823 Posts
very nice man, I need to do something like that soon

·
patio furniture breaker
563 Posts