GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Im new to the whole truck thing, but want my truck lifted a lil for offroadin and looks. Im thinkin 3in body lift, and some bigger tires. My first question is what size tires could i clear. Second is a 3in body lift a good idea, or that like sissy way. Also would buyin gm 17'' or 20''s be bad if im gonna lift it. What are the negative effects of this lift. What brands are good what are bad etc Like i said im new to this whole thing so any input would help.

·
Team White!
446 Posts
Body lifts are good if you do it right. Mine is from Performance assecorries (sp?) and included all the brackets for the bumpers/steering and radiator support. I was able to run a 315/75r16 on a stock wheel with just a bodylift. I went to 16x10 wheels when i added Ford keys and 3 inch blocks in the back.

Here is the truck with 315s on just a bodylift.

Here is the truck with a bodylift, 16x10, 315s, Ford Keys, and 3 inch rear blocks

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
what are ford keys? and so you had 3in blocks in the front and rear, and thanks nice truck

·
previously USMC05
552 Posts
Ford keys are the Torson bars keys that lift up the front end a few inches. You cant put blocks in the front you have IFS all you can do is torsion bar keys or a real suspension lift.

If you are just looking for a little height i would do exatly what was said 3" body lift with all the brackets, Blocks in the rear, and Ford keys up front and run the 16x10 wheel on a 315 (35x12.5)
heres a pic of the keys
f.gif

heres my old chevy when it had whats listed above except 16x8 wheels and addaleafs instead of blocks in the rear
IMG_1312s.gif

·
Registered
38 Posts
Discussion Starter #5