GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 38 Posts

·
Registered
3,648 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
What I'm wanting...

-Double Din Head Unit w/ XM, steering wheel, back-up camera compatibility
-2-10's or 2-12's in a downfiring box under the seats so I can still flip the seats up and throw groceries in the back.
-Budget is around the $700-800 mark, MAYBE the $1000 mark as it is going to be a gift.

I am a total noob when it comes to stereo stuff, so I need y'alls input on the best set-up for quality in-cab sound. I'm not into competition, just want a good clean bass while listening to my rock/occasional rap, so hit me with some ideas!

·
Premium Member
7,892 Posts
My vote is on a pair of Sundown SA10's and an SAX-1200d for $765 and a box from Subthump.com. Don't forget you need wiring also. HU wise, so many to choose from its a personal preference almost.

·
Registered
1,390 Posts
Subthump prefab box-120ish
Alpine type e 10's-160ish
Alpine mrp-m500-150
Base model pioneer hu-300 or so
The xm deal for that head unit will probly be about 120
Gmos01-100
Steering wheel control adaptor-100
Amp wiring kit-50
That'll be a good solid system for your purposes. 1100 total but you'll be happy with it I promise. You may just want to go with one 10 though if you're not really wanting a lot of bass

·
Registered
249 Posts
Anyone purchase a subthump box.. a good sounding box? was shipping a bitch?

·
Premium Member
7,892 Posts
I've been wanting to get a good answer on that question too. Alot of people have them so they can't be too bad.
I've only seen 1 in person, build quality looked fine. That's as far as I can comment on them from personal experience, I haven't seen anything bad from other people.

·
Registered
249 Posts
I think I am going to build my own box. I like doing that and frankly I enjoy my garage smelling like MDF! haha There is nothing better than the smell of new eletronics in your truck.. the smell of subs in the morning!! haha