GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to site and to Chevy world. I've searched but find alot about the tb on the nbs. I just bought a 98 ex cab gmc Z71. If I replaced shocks how high can I crank tb's on stock keys? Also will I need new cab bolts to get alignment correct?

Thanks
Mac

·
Registered
8,331 Posts
get a set of RC bars if you plan on keeping stock keys...actually get them regardless
do a search for them
You can also get ford keys which allow to up to 3" of crank with RC bars

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
thanks for the reply, i have seen that rc makes a 3" lift kit with bars add-a-leafs, and a-arm, is there a problem with the factory a-arms?

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
so don't lift it with the keys and bars or at all, I will be going off road, more mud than rock.

·
cracker ass fantastic
616 Posts
when running a really cranked front end you will have more problems with your steering components, at least in my experience...with an obs you are pretty limited on how much you can crank anyway since there isnt much down travel until u hit the droop stop, though it probably isnt that great of an idea you can trim some off the stop to give you a little more room to crank and a better ride

·
Registered
110 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
thanks again, i'm slow but think i'm following, either body lift & or trim, or use a drop axle lift?

·
Swamper Brotherhood
3,896 Posts
whats your plans for the truck, is it just gunna be used for play??? Also if you want to clear just like 33s get rc bars with a body lift. I am clearing 32 ssr which messure 32.7, about the same as a normal 33 with just cranked bars , but it rides like a tank and i rub a little

·
Timbrage: Engage
5,659 Posts
thanks for the reply, i have seen that rc makes a 3" lift kit with bars add-a-leafs, and a-arm, is there a problem with the factory a-arms?