GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
788 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm thinking about painting some dash and door panel pieces in my truck. I just wanted to know if this is hard to do because I have never painted anything before like this and if I could do it, where and how much is the paint for the project? Also, when you mention "wet sanding", is that just sanding the piece with a little water applied to it? Thanks in advance.

·
Registered
272 Posts
To give you an idea.. i started painting some pieces on Monday afternoon.. I just got them put on last night. I took my time, and had to redo a few pieces. Its a very long process to do it right.. You need to use an adhesion promotor, a primer, the paint, then clear.. Between each step you must sand, not including all the sanding you have to do from the start to make the piece's smooth. I seriously have 10-18 hours of work on these. Im very happy with the way they turned out, and im glad i didnt pay a body shop to do it.

James

·
Registered
788 Posts
Discussion Starter #5
Well, it sounds like it is very time consuming, something I dont have a whole lot of really. How much is all the paint, primer, and promoter and where do you get it? And what does it compare to in price from doing it yourself and letting someone else do it professionally? I'm kinda wanting to paint the dash bezel, the pieces around the a/c vents and a couple pieces off the door panel in a silver metallic color to kinda go w/ the color of my pioneer cd player. Thanks again in advance.

·
Registered
272 Posts
silverado_dude said: