GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 29 Posts

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hello guys, i'm new to this GMC forum and i would like to ask a few questions.
i have a 03' GMC Sierra and i would like to have alot more pulling power to tow my Buick T-Type. i already have a 3" Gibson cat-back and JBA headers. i was thinking about getting a Nelson Tune, K&N Intake, and a Comp Cams Magnum cam. do you guys think these mods are worth getting? if so, how much gain do you think i will have? please respond with your thoughts on this.

thanks,
Cody
03 Sierra
87 T(400hp sleeper)

·
internet bigot®
4,016 Posts
id say get rid of your JBA headers... shorties dont really give much power, switch to long tubes and get some new gears...

·
Registered
51 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
right now i have 3.42's, but i want to keep my gas mileage up.but when i'm on the highway doing 65,it struggles in OD and kicks down to 3rd and pulls.i want alot more low down grunt power and gears would help but this truck is driven every day. i'm probably going to go with some 3.73's down the road, but my question is would all the mods listed above help me out? i mean, the cam alone is probably worth a solid 15hp-15-20Tq right?

thanks,
Cody
03 Sierra
87 T(400hp sleeper)

·
Registered
601 Posts
I'd do 3.90 or 4.10 if towing a lot. With 3.73 and a LT265/75R16 I am at 1600RPM @ 65 MPH. You mentioned a cam, which could hurt mileage depending on what you put it (Obviously you should see power gains).

Think about it this way, if the motor is stuggling at 1500 [email protected] and with 4.10 gears [email protected] you'll actually get better mileage. A vacumn guage is really the way to tell how hard and how effecient it is running.

People have been claming 15-20 HP with a tune.

See my post in THIS THREAD for calcualors for finding out RPMs with different gears and tires. The linked excel spreadsheet is best, tells you speed at RPMs in each gear.

E.g.