GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
SOoooo Ive googled and done it multiple times but with no avail finding a snorkel for a gas silverado 08 NNBS. Do the airflow/safari snorkels "bolt" right up to the manifold or do they attach to the MAF sensor? Im very new to this and since I live in florida where the roads flood alot, ive been debating whether or not to get it. Id rather have it and not need it than not have it and need it. Thanks for the help!!

·
Mmm Sandwich
15,692 Posts
If the roads are flooding that bad you should not be driving through them.

Post pick of your truck now

·
This place sucks dicks
4,938 Posts
If you need a snorkel to drive on flooded road youre also going to need scuba gear.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I dont have anything but some lights and exhaust on my silvy, its completely stock, some AT tires but no lift or anything. I dont have a choice, if the roads flood i still need to get to school.....

·
Mmm Sandwich
15,692 Posts
You need to reevaluate your safety. You have more to worry about then sucking water in your intake.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #6

not the greatest pic but you see it.... hence a snorkel....I dont have a choice not to go to school, if i miss 2 days of school I attendance fail.....Since the va pays me i cant afford to fail school(MMI/UTI)

·
Registered
763 Posts
A snorkel on a stock truck will only help it to continue running as it floats away.

·
cunts
2,743 Posts
Location is Ohio, but lives in florida :think:

OP, driving through deep water is bad for all of your truck, not just your engine. If it were me I would not drive through a flooded road. Could easily be replacing transmission, differential(s), hubs, wheel cylinders, etc. Plus if it is in salt water you may as well just buy a boat.

·
Mmm Sandwich
15,692 Posts