GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
6,224 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I ordered a 2" hanger kit this week to drop the rear of my truck to a 7" or so. My current setup for the rear is Belltech 3" drop leafs and 2" shackles to get my 5" I have now. When I installed my rollpan it came up just a tad. I don't know how much cause I didn't measure it. But I wanted to drop the rear this weekend by adding 2" hangers and notching the frame. Has anyone ever seen this setup or have any thoughts on it? Like is it safe or what will the ride be like: worse or better? I've just never seen this type of setup before and was wondering.

·
internet bigot®
4,016 Posts
i'm still kinda new to the suspension thing...

but ive heard of shackles and hangers w/ stock leaf springs...

and the belltech leafsprings are like like stock, but just made to lower the truck... so i dont see why the combo wouldnt work...

of course like i said, i'm still learning.... can someone give ME a clue?

·
Registered
1,479 Posts
around here we call that the "Clifty Slant" i've not really seen a NBS fullsize truck lowered like that, so I haven't a clue. My guess though is that it will be a little rougher, but not by much. I had the factory springs with a leaf taken out and 2" drop shackles on mine back when it was @ 4/6 and I didn't have a bumpy or stiff ride at all. I was pretty happy with it. My friends all had flip kits on their fullsizes and they even said mine rode better than theirs.

·
Registered
6,224 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
way2hi said: