GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Drive It Like Ya Stole It
6,656 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Like I said in Jasons thread, over the weekend I was playing with ideas for an exo cage. Its a very very rough design, and Im no expert (far from it) in cage design to feel free to flame away. I will use 1.75" or 2.0" .120 wall DOM for the entire thing. Its not going to be rolled all the time, but I want it to be able to take one. Also there is a cargo cage incorporated into the top.

·
GPS Guru
347 Posts
Needs two big beams running from your brushguard to the roofrack. Make it look like a bulldozer. :read: :thumbsup: :anitoof:

·
Registered
832 Posts
i been thinking abot it also. However i think im going to lose the bed and just turn it into a flat bed. So i can still haul atleast 2 dirtbikes. I do plan on exo caging it tho.

·
6,656 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
Shift said:
Needs two big beams running from your brushguard to the roofrack. Make it look like a bulldozer. :read: :thumbsup: :anitoof:
should I paint it yellow after that?

·
Registered
3,518 Posts
The front half will most likely fold over on a hard roll. There is no diagnol bracing. Your best bet would be to do a b pillar hoop in the cab behind the front seats and tie it through the roof into the exo cage to add some lateral stability. And remember, triangles and nodes are your friend. You have a lot of tubing intersecting the middle spans of other tubing puting it into a bending state when a force is applied, if you tie it all together at nodes it will transfer the loads evenly.

·
Proud Chevy Owner
859 Posts
Looks good to me even though i know jack shit about cages. A little off topic.. where did you get that spare tire mount for the bed?

·
6,656 Posts
Discussion Starter #7
You have any blueprints or examples of a b pillar hoop like that? I was thinking that it would be weak laterally and hadnt thought of that.