GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
635 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 03' Silverado RCSB fleetside 2wd and was looking under the box the other day thinking about future drops. Anyways I measured 6 inches of travel (not counting the giant factory bump stop) from the frame to the axle.

So whats the deal if you go........
.....with a 5/7 you have to notch out the frame or isn't it truely a 7 inch rear drop?
.....with a 4/6 you are touching with no bump stop or do you notch?
.....with a 3/5 you have a half inch bump stop and then a half inch of travel?
.....with a 2/4 you have a half inch bump stop and then a inch and a half of travel?

Thanks for the help, I'm still learning. :shake:

·
Orale Homes....
1,796 Posts
MinnesotaFZR said:
I have a 03' Silverado RCSB fleetside 2wd and was looking under the box the other day thinking about future drops. Anyways I measured 6 inches of travel (not counting the giant factory bump stop) from the frame to the axle.

So whats the deal if you go........
.....with a 5/7 you have to notch out the frame or isn't it truely a 7 inch rear drop?
.....with a 4/6 you are touching with no bump stop or do you notch?
.....with a 3/5 you have a half inch bump stop and then a half inch of travel?
.....with a 2/4 you have a half inch bump stop and then a inch and a half of travel?

Thanks for the help, I'm still learning. :shake:
Let's see..
5/7- Notch is a MUST and even with that, your pumpkin will hit the bed support on large bumps so the suggestion is to trim the bed support to clear it (my experience). You will also have to get used to scraping frequently unless you raise your transmission crossmember...
4/6- Notch is a MUST.
3/5- You can drive without a notch, but it is suggested as you will bottom out even with button bump stops in large dips or bumps.
2/4- You should be ok without notching....

·
Registered
6,224 Posts
groundscraper said:
Let's see..