GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 28 Posts

·
patio furniture breaker
563 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
does naybody have any Stanley hand tools? i'm thinking about gettting there 246pc. mechanics tool set. i haerd that Stanley tools was owned buy some other major tool maker, like Mac. any body know? are they good tools? im not a mechanic, i just like to work on my cars when i can.

·
Drive It Like Ya Stole It
6,656 Posts
What kind of warenty do they have? Thats the #1 reason I buy craftsman.

·
scooby dooby doo!
26 Posts
Well. I can't vouch for all their tools but I do have 1 Stanley screwdriver that I use keep the engine from falling off the stand since I lost the original pin and it has served its purpose for many months. :waytogo:

·
GMFS founding member
4,010 Posts
i had a set of stanley screwdrivers, they were very poorly made and most of them broke. i'd spend a little more and get craftsman. even if stanley can match craftsman's warranty, it's still easier to return stuff to sears. craftsman isn't the top of the line best tool you can buy but for everyday wrenching you can't go wrong with them.

·
eplingphoto.com
550 Posts
Stanley is a subsidary of Mac Tools and has a lifetime warranty just like overchargemens.. I mean craftsmen..

You can take anything that breaks back to where ever a mac tool truck runs.

I ONLY use Stanley tools and wouldn't switch no matter what.

·
Registered
601 Posts
My experience with stanley hasn't been great. My friend has a kit and was taking apart his throttle body. Ended up rounding out the torx screws. I happend to have a snap-on one and was able to get the screws out after the stanley rounded em. I don't know when the mac acquisition took place, the forementioned set is an older one so it may not be applicable.

**edit** looks like MAC is owned by them, not the converse

·
Registered
601 Posts