GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
44 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I bought a 01 ECSB in July. Im just getting into this truck really, and dont know much about it. Whats the stock HP rating on these 4.8 motors. And what tranny do they typically come with? Love the truck though. Put a 3/4 drop with 22", just bought the K&N FIPK for it yesterday, and am pumped to throw it on. Thanks.:bowtie:

·
Registered
305 Posts
well, it has about 270 HP @ 5200 RPM with bolt ons you can get more hp then a stock 5.3l which has about 285 HP @ 5200 RPM. The tranny you most likely have is a 4L60E. To help the tranny out get a transgo shift kit, a corvette shift servo, and after you get all that, get a mail order PCM tune from westers or nelson or wait4me, depending on budget, a tune will help gain a bit of HP and possibly better gas mileage depending on type of tune. Also dont forget a exhaust, for the best sound get a corsa, or for a budget get a magna flow or borla exhaust, and mebay even some headers for that engine.

·
Registered
6,655 Posts
Here is RandomHero's Guide to modding your truck for dumbies. I am in no way an expert, but I learned much of this stuff not too long ago so it is still fresh in my mind.

Here are some great engine modifications and tranny modifications to do for your silverado.

The best thing to start off with is a tune. Many think that Hypertech, Superchips, or Jet programmers are your best bet....WRONG.

Your best bet for a tune is to:
1.) Get a mail order tune from such companies as:
Wait4me, Nelson, PCMForLess, Westerns or Charlie Wheatley.
2.) Buy EFI Live or HPTuners

Option one is a great idea for the newbie in truck performance. The idea is that you send the company your money and they send you back a performance computer than is tuned to your truck. Generally people see around 30rwhp increase which is much more than you can say for a hypertech programmer.