GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 18 of 18 Posts

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have been doing custom installs for 3 years, and all of the work I have done I try to make a system sound very clean and as stealth as possible,

So here is my idea. I have an extended cab 03. Has anyone, cut the panels off of the rear doors from the cup holder down, built a sealed enclosure to fit there. (you got about 6-8 inches in depth) and build it up cosmetically to butt up to the factory panel? There is space for a 10 or 12 on each door, prob about 1.2 cubic feet, more if you use fiberglass.

Has anyone done this? Just Think, you could fit 4-6 12's and keep your back seat!!! or just use the under seat for amps and what not and then just use the doors? :head:

I am going to go for it, I think it would be really stealth and probably sound really good too! Is there anyone who has done this and it did not work out for any reason, before I go diving into this weekend project? :insane:

·
I don't own a lowrider
4,694 Posts
I haven't done it, but i have to say that is a very good idea! Take lots of pics when you get started on it as I'd love to see it done step by step. Are you wanting to build it into the doors so that they still open? Or how exactly are you planning to do it?

·
Registered
131 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I want the doors to function like normal, Just replace that usless pocket on the door with a a good sounding sub enclosure.
So at shows when you open the rear doors, you can see the subs really well, I will take lots of pictures! I am just about ready to start into this project, only have had the truck for 3 weeks but am getting excited to get the crap bose out and some slick stuff in there.

·
Registered
1,997 Posts
How well will the door hold up? How about the door flexing since it is pretty thin? Glass in the door should stay put but you never know.