GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
18 on 38's
616 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so i stopped by the dealer today and they said something internal in my transfer case is screwed up.
they suggested pulling one from a wrecked truck or whatever.
so i called a local place they want $400 for a swap (i have to give them my old one and they give me a working one)
from what i have researched that seems a little steep.

ANYWAY i was told i should be able to do the swap myself and i was wondering what all i need to know in order to complete the swap on my truck with autotrac.
please be detailed if you can as i have never done anything like this before...

Blake

·
Registered
4,075 Posts
I would try to find a good performance shop in your area and have them diagnose the problem first. I may end up being something cheaper than swapping the whole damn thing out.

·
Fjdjciekejfuejfjwkx
140 Posts
If you're just replacing the transfer case, it's MAYBE a 1-hour job. Remove both drive shafts, remove cross-member support; unbolt transfer case from the transmission/adapter, push backward to separate, let it droop and rock forward, twist/push forward to pivot and it will fall right out.

Careful it's a little heavy; my brother and I removed and re-installed mine in less than an hour on my '00 when I split the adapter between t-case/transmission. Really quite easy .

I'd recommend just having a floor jack, some 4x4 wooden blocks and a friend to help you balance everything around.

What did they say was wrong with the t-case?

·
Registered
2,116 Posts
I know Fabtech lift kit install for the 4x4 have instructions on how to take out the front diff :shrug:

·
18 on 38's
616 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
allright well cool so it will probly take me 4 hours :crazy:

i will shop around and try and find a better price

edit: would you guys recomend getting one thats been gone through and rebuilt i assume?

·
Registered
283 Posts