GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
TEAM FUEL MOTORSPORTS
7,892 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm new to this scene so bear with me. I'm used to going up, not down. :crazy:

My wife and I have an 01' Tahoe 4x4 (no autoride). When we first bought it I thought I was gonna go bigger than stock tires on nice stock wheels. So, I did a little torsion crank to level it out. Well the stock keys, bars, were fairly weak and it never actually made it to level. Even though, the one key is maxed all the way out. It actually sits 2" higher in the rear right now, with the keys maxed out up front.
Fast forward to last summer when we decided to go a different route and I picked up some factory NIB Chrome SS Silvy wheels and 275/55/20 tires. I slapped em' on there and shes been driving it ever since. But, I've always thought it sat too high in the ass end (even the wife does!!) and on top of that the keys are cranked up.
So my question is I wanna drop it some, nothing major. Just lower it by backing down the tb's up front, and maybe some new lowering coils in the rear.
Does any company just sell lowering coil spring kits?? Can that be done?? Will that require new shocks as well?? Its still got the stockers with 84,000 miles on them. Also, keep in mind we're currently running 275/55's and when these wear out, I'd like to put 285/50's on it, and not have big gap. These seem a tad tall and narrow, but not too bad with the current setup.

Anyway, here's how it sits currently:

Sorry for being so long winded.

Thanks for the help in advance,
John

·
Mile High
3,080 Posts
3/4 ton keys and shock extentions with stock length bilsteins and some good 2 or 3" coils for the back should do the trick.

·
Donk Rider
672 Posts
i got ground force 3" drop springs i will sell if your interested. Theres nothing wrong with them and i never had a prob out of them. If you are just shoot me a pm.

·
It is what it is
1,114 Posts