GMC Truck Forum banner

1 - 20 of 164 Posts

·
Registered
1,061 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Ok all, here it is, my FAQ about hydraulics. Before I go off on everything, I'm going to give you some background about my knowledge of hydraulics to let you know where I'm coming from.

First off, my name is Kevin Whipps, and I'm a freelance writer & photographer for Street Trucks, Import Racer, Edge, Lowrider, and a bunch of other mags. A year or so ago I published an article in Lowrider called, "Accumulators 101" which was all about accumulators and their role in hydraulics. More recently there was an article in Lowrider called "The Protector" about a pressure relief valve for hydraulics. The Jan '04 Issue of Street Trucks has my Sierra in it with a full install of the hydraulics from start to finish.

Beginning in 1996, I juiced my first car, my 1996 Honda Civic that was destined to become the "Bad Apple." That car was on the cover of the premier issue of Import Racer, as well as on the March 2000 issue of Lowrider Euro. The car went through at least 10 different hydraulic setups, from a simple 2/4, to a 1/8 with manually plumbed dumps, to a 4 pumps setup, and was truly a learning experience for me and hydraulics.

A year or two ago I had an orange Focus wagon named "Makin Waves." The wagon had 4 pumps on it, 3 batteries, and rode great. It was on the cover of Lowrider Euro and made me the only person to make the cover of Euro twice.

I also have done lots of hydraulic installs. When I say lots, I'd say easily over 50, probably closer to 100. Everything from minor touch ups to start to finish rides. I've laid a Camry out on the ground so it drags, I've gotten S10's to do mad 3-wheels, and I've gotten a Civic to do a 9" front STANDING 3 wheel.

In this FAQ I'm going to make one thing clear; Hydraulics aren't perfect. Then again, neither are bags. This faq is designed to clear up some of the misconceptions about hydraulics, as well as educate the masses.